Super Soul Sunday with Sue Monk Kidd, and a Giveaway

April 17, 2014 at 8:10 am (Book Reviews, Giveaways, Historical Fiction, Spirituality)

imgres

 

Since THE SECRET LIFE OF BEES, I have admired the writing and insights found in Sue Monk Kidd‘s work, so it was a joy to watch her thoughtful interview with Oprah on Super Soul Sunday. I had the pleasure of meeting Sue at a local appearance, and just being around her is calming. She is a deep thinker and a kind soul, and bears an aura of welcome and generosity.

THE INVENTION OF WINGS is one of the best books I have read in 2014. (Read my review here.) Imagine my thrill when Super Soul Sunday chose my video question to include in Sue’s interview after the show! I have been a long time admirer of Oprah, of course, so to be featured on the program with two such strong and empowering women was an honor. I have linked up to the video below, which I encourage you to watch in its entirety. (My question is at minute 29, not that I am counting. :) )

Oprah interviews Sue Monk Kidd

For appearing on the segment, Super Soul Sunday sent me a signed copy of Sue Monk Kidd’s THE INVENTION OF WINGS. I have another signed copy from the day I met Sue, so I will give that copy away to one lucky winner. To participate, simply leave a comment about your favorite work by Sue Monk Kidd, or your favorite Oprah’s book selection, and share on social media. Enter by Friday, April 18th at 9 PM to win. (US residents only, please.) Best wishes!

 

11 Comments

  1. Rhonda said,

    I am a huge Sue Monk Kidd fan.love all her books But The Secret Life of Bees hasva special place in my heart.

  2. JJT said,

    It’s hard to pick just one by I think my favorite Oprah selection was A Fine Balance by Mistry. I could not put it done. Would love to read The Invention of Wings.

  3. Lori P said,

    My fav Oprah picks are “The Poisonwood Bible” and “Where the Heart Is.” Both so good and so different. I’ve been dying to read “The Invention of Wings” since I first heard the synopsis!!

  4. Elizabeth Bevins said,

    Ohhh…The Mermaid Chair was beautiful. Thank you for the giveaway opportunity.

  5. Terry Martini said,

    My favorite book by Sue is The Invention of Wings. It takes place during one of my favorite time periods to read about in American history. That said, I have really enjoyed all of her books and look forward to reading whatever she will write in the future.

  6. nicole said,

    The Secret Life of Bees remains a favorite, and rare, hardback cover that’s on my bookshelf.

  7. Jessica DeLeon said,

    Thanks for the giveaway! My favorite Oprah book was “The Road” by Cormac McCarthy.

  8. Bonnie K. said,

    The Secret Life of Bees was one of my favorites written by Kidd. I, also, really liked The Mermaid Chair.

  9. erikarobuck said,

    Winner! Random.org selected Terry Martini! Congratulations, and thanks so much to those of you who participated. Come back soon for more great giveaways!

  10. Amy Sue Nathan said,

    I watched! Oprah called you INSIGHTFUL! XO

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 139 other followers

