Chapter One: The Cover

In traditional publishing, authors rarely have any say over their cover art.  Since the cover is often what makes or breaks the sale for the average bookstore browser, this can be a scary thing.   But I am self publishing, so I am Lord of my publication, and I’m really excited about the cover.  I’ve invested a lot of thought, energy, and now, resources, into the face of my novel.   It had to be eye-catching, thought-provoking, and convey the time, tone, and genre of the book. 

 

In the book, a ficitonal mural by Benjamin West of The Fall of Adam and Eve is painted on a wall in the plantation house, Eden.  Many of the themes of the book have to do with “the fall” and the loss of innocence, and the setting descriptions are drawn from Genesis‘ Eden, and the landscape of Milton’s Paradise Lost.

 

West did actually complete a painting called The Expulsion of Adam and Eve from Paradise, and that is what I bought the rights to use it for my cover.  Here is a link to it on the National Gallery of Art website:  http://www.nga.gov/fcgi-bin/timage_f?object=70986&image=17721&c=gg61 

 

I can’t wait to see it in print!

 

 

Leave a Reply

