My Favorite Book I’ve Never Read

I feel like my list of books to read is growing by the day, and I can’t seem to grab the time to finish the one I’m currently reading.  (That means it’s not very good, because I make time in the wee hours if I really love something.)

That said, I’m absolutely dying to read the Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer.  http://www.stepheniemeyer.com/twilightseries.html The movie marketing campaign has me by the throat (sorry) and I can’t wait to start the books or watch the movie. 

For those of you who don’t look at entertainment news, the Twilight series is about a romance between a young vampire and a human girl.  It sounds like the perfect, against-all-odds romantic thriller: the vampire with a soft side and the evil predator vampires who want to kill his human girlfriend. 

What is it with vampires?  I suppose it’s the dark, sensual, raw, animal desire of most of the stories involving them that grabs us.  True Blood is the new vampire series on HBO that is gaining wide popularity.  It’s vulgar and disturbing, and I can’t get enough of it.  http://www.hbo.com/trueblood/  The Lost Boys was a smash hit in the 80s and continues to have a cult following.  Anne Rice’s Vampire Lestat series, Elizabeth Kostova’s Historian, and of course, Bram Stoker’s Dracula all have timeless appeal.  There have been over 150 vampire movies made since 1909. 

I will review the Twilight books as I read them. If you’ve read them, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

