I’m Back…

img_3091

I’m sorry I haven’t posted in a few days, but (try not to feel sorry for me) I was in San Juan, Puerto Rico.  I wish I could tell you that I did some fabulous historical tours or had some cultural adventures, but in truth, I couldn’t move from my sun-induced coma on the palm-fringed beach.  I did make it into Old San Juan one night for a bit of sight seeing and the best grouper I’ve ever eaten at a restaurant called Aguaviva, but other than that, it was just me, my husband, and Edward Cullen.

Yes, Edward is the vampire from Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight series that has captivated the fantasies of many a young (and old) woman with his fairy tale perfection–in spite of the fact that he’s a blood-sucking killer.  I finished books 2 and 3 of the series (New Moon and Eclipse) in just two days.  I’m addicted to the books and can’t wait to finish with the fourth, Breaking Dawn.

While reading the books, I marvel at Stephanie Meyer’s ability to fill pages and pages with the protagonist’s thoughts, feelings, and reactions without boring the reader.  Don’t get me wrong, there is tons of action and dialogue, and the books get downright scary, but we get so much of Bella that we feel like we really know her as the books progress. 

The third book introduces a plot line that I really didn’t see coming and that truly complicated things.  I look forward to the resolution in book four.  I’m sorry to be so vague, but I don’t want to give anything away. 

Also on vacation, I was able to spend a lot of time with my Hemingway/Key West novel.  The tropical weather and scenery helped me add some strong physical descriptions, and I even got inspired with some great metaphors with the sun and the heat and its relation to Hemingway himself.  People-watching was also a plus.  All of the time I spent delayed in airports gave me plenty of opportunity for that.  

It’s getting late, and I’m still readjusting to the cold Maryland weather, and easing myself out of the laziness that has been my last four days, so I’ll write more tomorrow.

3 thoughts on “I’m Back…

  1. Kristin Niesz says:

    Erika-

    I loved reading your thoughts. Just finished Twighlight and can’t wait to start the second. Not exactly sure why, the vampire thing has peaked my curiosity. Your talent is unmeasurable, keep us up to date on when we can get the book!

  2. gran says:

    Loved your Puerto Rico review. 🙂
    This website is very informative and entertaining. I can’t wait until your book is out and we read the comments on it.
    Very exciting!!

Leave a Reply

