The Shack

the-shack.jpg

I haven’t read William “Paul” Young’s The Shack yet, but I’ve gotten the buzz on the book from many different people.   It’s about a father mourning the brutal murder of his daughter, who gets a letter from God inviting him to the scene of the crime four years after it has happened.  What ensues is a non-traditional spiritual journey that attempts to address the question of where God is when bad things happen.  Not for the faint of heart, right?

But it is not the description of the book that drew me to it–though that was certainly a hook.  It is the fact that Young is self-published, and I’m always on the lookout for breakthrough self-published authors.  He and his friends started a publishing company, had 11,000 copies printed that they hoped to sell over two years, and ended up on the New York Times bestseller list.  He has also been picked up by a traditional publisher. 

I love those kinds of stories. 

 

One thought on “The Shack

  1. Linda Andrus says:

    Have you read it yet? I received it as a gift at X-mas (so glad that’s OK 🙂 ). It became my book to read while working out and I completed it on a roadtrip 2 weeks ago.
    My mind goes to the main message I still find in some ways “haunting me” since reading the book. Curious to know what you think when you finish it!

Leave a Reply

