Year in Review

img_32941

It’s been a great year of reading and writing.  I’m really excited for tomorrow, though, because I’ll officially be able to say “My book will be published this year.”  The files have all been sent to the printer.  We are working out distribution and buying.  When I get my galley proof back I have to send it to the National Gallery of Art for final approval on the use of the cover art from the Benjamin West painting.  Once I (hopefully) get that approval, I will unveil the cover for you all to see.  It is GORGEOUS.  My friends at Author Support did a fabulous job!! 

But enough about that for now. 

I want to know what you read in 2008.  It didn’t have to be published in 2008, but give me your list.  Star anything you’d highly recommend.  Here’s mine in no particular order:

Twilight Series by Stephenie Meyer*

19th Wife by David Ebershoff

Complete Guide to Self-Publishing by Tom & Marilyn Ross

The Self-Publishing Manual by Dan Poynter

The Rosetti Letter by Christi Phillips

The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield*

The Shack by William P. Young

The Power of a Positive Mom by Karol Ladd*

Angela’s Ashes (for the 3rd time) by Frank McCourt*

‘Tis (for the 2nd time) by Frank McCourt

Sepulchre by Kate Mosse*

Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett*

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling*

Remember Me? by Sophie Kinsella

Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt by Anne Rice

Christ the Lord: The Road to Cana by Anne Rice*

Diary of Saint Maria Faustina (Could only get through half because it was overwhelming.  Not the text, the charge.)

Why Catholic? Life in Christ by RENEW International

Why Catholic? Celebration of Christian Mystery by RENEW International

Gone With the Wind (for the 3rd time) by Margaret Mitchell*

Rhett Butler’s People by Donald McCaig*

The House on Tradd Street by Karen White

Rembrandt’s Whore by Sylvie Matton

The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman

Atonement by Ian McEwan*

Mr. Knightley’s Diary by Amanda Grange

Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See*

The Chrysalis by Heather Terrell

Roots by Alex Haley*

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen*

For Whom the Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway*

The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway*

Green Hills of Africa by Ernest Hemingway

To Have and Have Not by Ernest Hemingway

Death in the Afternoon by Ernest Hemingway

Hemingway by Jeffrey Meyers

Hemingway by Kenneth Lynn

Hemingway, the 1930’s by Michael Reynolds

Papa: A Personal Memoir by Gregory Hemingway

(A bunch more Hemingway books that would only interest me…)

And countless US Weekly and People Magazines. 😉

I can’t remember any more.  My stand out favorite beach read would be the Twilight series.  My favorite book because it was well written and timeless would have to be Atonement.  My personal favorite was Christ the Lord: The Road to Cana.

I look forward to seeing your favorites!

11 thoughts on “Year in Review

  1. Heather J. says:

    I do my annual list of books read in Novemeber, in honor of my birthday. I can tell you what I read THIS MONTH though …

    – Midnight Sun (Stephenie Meyer)
    – Notes on Democracy (HL Mencken)
    – The Tales of Beedle the Bard (JK Rowling)
    – Cole Family Christmas (Jennifer Bryan)
    – The Survivors of the Chancellor (Jules Verne)
    – Typhoid Mary (Anthony Bourdain)
    – Outwitting History (Aaron Lansky)
    – Twilight (Stephenie Meyer)
    – New Moon(Stephenie Meyer)
    – Eclipse (Stephenie Meyer)

    And I had to run to the bookstore at lunch today to pick up Breaking Dawn. I cannot believe how addicted I am to the fluff that is Twilight!

  2. Erika, I may be the last person on Earth who has not read Twilight. Luckily, Nancy is an expert on vampires and other supernatural types. You have an impressive list for 2008. I’ve been using it to guess what your next book will be about. Something Hemingway-ish? Happy New Year!

    • erikarobuck says:

      Good guess! A Moveable Feast (as a reread) is high on the list. Then Toni Morrison’s new book, A Mercy. The latest Philippa Gregory. Teacher Man by Frank McCourt. And on and on…I just went nuts in Borders yesterday.

  3. Angie Hilz says:

    I have read very few books this year which stinks, but full time college kind of puts a dent in my reading.

    I read: Economics, College Algebra, Statisitics, Marketing Management, Ethical Issues (which I did enjoy believe it or not), Principles of Nutrition and Business Law.

    Now for pleasure:
    The Tenth Cirlce (Jodi Picult)
    The Pact (Jodi Picult)
    Change your Life in 7 days (Paul McKenna)
    The Bean Trees (Barbara Kingsolver) Hard to get through)

    Not a long list, but like I said College has put a damper on that, and I am the type that reads the textbook when told to do so.

    Hopefully I can pick up some other books in the next couple weeks on winter break!
    Saw Twighlight is was excellent, haven’t read any of the books, but maybe I should.

    Angie

  4. Dave Tieff says:

    It sounds so pretentious to say I’m into neuroscience and quantum physics(and sort of boring), so let’s say I like to read about the mind and really tiny stuff! I also can’t read enough about spiritual growth. Spiritual wholeness will be the currency of the 21st century.

    What truly fascinates me is how science and spirituality are finally coming together after thousands of years and uncovering some of mankind’s most ancient questions.
    I think that right now is the most exciting time to be alive in human history!

    These all get 5 stars:

    “A Whole New Mind” Daniel Pink
    “Buddha” Deepak Choprah
    “Evolve Your Brain” Dr Joe Dispenza
    “The Answer” John Asaraf
    “The Shack” William Young
    “Spiritual Liberation” Dr Michael Beckwith

  5. Tracy H says:

    I discovered Jodi Picoult this year and read a few of hers. My Sister’s Keeper and Plain Truth were two of my favorites. And of course the Twilight Saga….I just started Breaking Dawn today!

  6. Kim P. says:

    I see Pillars of the Earth on your list. If you liked that, you have to read World Without End. I finally started it over the holidays. I was only about 100 pages in last night, and I couldn’t put it down.

    The Shack is next for me. My husband just read that and said that I have to read it.

    I also got Anne Rice’s “Spiritual Confession” book for Christmas. I haven’t gotten to it, yet, but I’ve been wanting to hear her story ever since the first “Christ the Lord” book.

    • erikarobuck says:

      I just got World Without End and I can’t wait to read it. I just finished The Shack, and I’m going to review that for my next blog post. I got my husband Anne Rice’s Spiritual Confession book. He’s said it’s great.

      We’ll have to discuss The Shack when you’re done. I’m very interested to hear what people thing about that one.

Leave a Reply

