Publishing Update: Proof Time

Yesterday, I received the proof of my novel in the mail from the printer, and I couldn’t be more pleased with how it looks. (See a sneak peek of the back cover below.)  I’ve been bouncing all over the house trying to make time to give it one more careful review before submitting it.  Life (little people, ahem) are making that difficult, but I’ve waited this long, so I can wait until nap/bedtime for a few more days to finalize edits.

I’m trying to slowly read every word of the book out loud to make sure there are no misspellings, awkward sentences, etc.  It’s amazing and frightening that as many times as I’ve read this book, and as many people as I’ve had help me edit it (professional and otherwise), I still find the occassional mistake.  Scary.  There’s nothing worse than reading a novel and finding an error.  I’ve even found errors in novels that come from major publishing houses and that really gets to me. 

After I give my final edits to the printer, I have to send a copy of the book to the National Gallery of Art to get final approval on the use of the cover art.  Then the book will be ready.  (As soon as they approve it (hopefully!) I’ll post a picture of the front cover.) 

I can’t believe it.  The end is in sight!

img_33132

6 thoughts on “Publishing Update: Proof Time

  1. Heather J. says:

    Yeah! How exciting – I can’t wait to read it!

  2. Eileen Cortese says:

    Congrats and happy editing! May you find few errors but find them all!! Can’t wait to read it.

  3. Tracy H says:

    I am so excited for you!!!! I can’t wait to see it and read it!

  4. Christina Fohner says:

    So happy for you! I cannot wait to go to the book store to buy (and read) your novel!!!

  5. Erika!! Wow, i am facebook fooolish i only use it for communication and rarely browse–so i am only now discovering your a)blog, b) exciting amazing news!!

    congrats my friend please keep going keep going keep going and continue to let us know how it goes!!

  6. Angie Hilz says:

    Congratulations Erika, I know how important this is to you! Cannot wait to read it!

Leave a Reply

