Classic Twist

The Classic Regency Romance - Now with Ultraviolent Zombie Mayhem!

I am a Jane Austen fanatic.  I’ve read all of her books several times each, I’ve read all the fanfiction, I’ve seen all the movies, and I never get tired of her. 

I don’t know, however, if I will be picking up Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.   It actually sounds pretty funny.  Amazon’s description says:  “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies” features the original text of Jane Austen’s beloved novel with all-new scenes of bone crunching zombie action. ”  I love horror, I love Jane Austen–it might be a perfect marriage.  And we know what a tough broad Lizzy is–she tromps through the mud to visit her sick sister.  What’s beheading a couple of zombie’s along the way?

P&P&Z author, Seth Grahame-Smith, has a great blog on Amazon. He reported that his Facebook group for the as-yet-unpublished novel just reached 1,000 members, and his Amazon sales rank hit #77.  Let me repeat–the book hasn’t been published yet.  It just goes to show you what a fabulous title and some savvy marketing can do for a writer.  Pride and Prejudice and Zombies comes out in June.

In addition to that silly book, Jane Austen has inspired some serious fanfiction.  My favorite Jane Austen fanfiction is the series by Elizabeth Aston. It continues on with Darcy and Elizabeth’s daughters, and their adventures and exploits.  I also enjoyed Linda Berdoll’s series that picked up after the marriage of Darcy and Elizabeth, but it leaves the reader blushing under her bonnett.  It probably has Jane Austen turning over in her grave.

My favorite modern-day Austen knock-off movie is Clueless.  It is a ridiculous film, but a great 90’s reinterpretation of Emma.  If you know your Emma, you’ll appreciate the script.  It’s a hoot.

Now, I’m only about a week away from publication, but is it too late to change my title?  Receive Me Falling with Zombies?  It has a nice ring to it.

Leave a Reply

