Writer Thrills

I like to contact writers with praise for their books, writing questions, etc., and every writer I’ve ever contacted has replied to me.  Through the little miracle of internet and email, I’ve been able to converse with some of my favorite writers, and it never ceases to amaze me when I see their names in my inbox.

Three days ago, I sent Anne Rice an email telling her how much her Christ the Lord books and her spirtual confession moved me, and she replied within 12 hours!  It was a genuine thrill to see her name in my inbox.  I had to keep pinching myself. 

Then I contacted Jodi Picoult to ask her if she used/recommended a publicist, and she wrote me back within minutes! 

I once emailed Kate Mosse (the writer not the model) about her books Sepulchre and Labyrinth–which I enjoyed immensely–and she wrote me back within a week. 

I’ve also conversed with Tracy Chevalier, author of Girl With The Pearl Earring, over email. 

Crazy?! 

For those of you who aren’t bookish, you may be saying, “So What?”  But to me, it’s the equivalent of a Steelers‘ fan chatting with Ben Roethlisberger, or a tween talking to Miley Cyrus

I mean Anne Rice, seriously?! 

 

(Sorry for the stupid post today, but I’m in celeb shock, and it’s all I can think about.)

3 thoughts on “Writer Thrills

  1. Heather J. says:

    I had the same feeling when I started interacting with authors through my blog. These people are like rock stars to me!

  2. Eileen says:

    I think your e-mail conversations are the coolest things ever!! I think I’d feel too intimidated to try to contact any of those authors. I truly can’t believe they write you back. Certainly gives me something to think about….

  3. Lara T. says:

    Holy Crap that is too cool!! I am right there with ya! I think I’m gonna try that!! 🙂 woohoo!

Leave a Reply

