Curiouser and Curiouser

curiouser

No, this isn’t my tatoo, but if I ever got one, it would look something like this.  (I have an Alice in Wonderland fascination, and I collect editions of the book.) 

Today’s galleycat blog linked up to a website called contrariwise, devoted to tattoos born of literary inspiration from books, music, and poetry.   I love tattoos, and I’ve always secretly wanted one.  Of course, I’d never have the nerve, but it’s fun to think about. 

I don’t know how I’d pick just one passage, but it might have to be that perfect denouement in Steinbeck’s East of Eden where every struggle put forth in the story is validated, and promise of the future is summed up in a word: 

timshel 

One thought on “Curiouser and Curiouser

  1. Heather J. says:

    East of Eden was my book club’s first book and we had a wonderful discussion about timshel … ah, the memories!

Leave a Reply

