Diary: NaNoWriMo, Day 4

IMG_5516

This morning, I was able to get to my favorite bookstore/coffee shop in downtown Annapolis (courtesy of my darling husband) where the Muse always seems to wait for me.  It was a crisp fall day on the bay, and after a walk around the dock,  I got to work and wrote 587 words.  I also managed to narrowly avoid a parking ticket, so I counted the morning a success.

IMG_5526

I got home around lunch time to eat with the kids, and then work some more while they napped.  I have to confess that it’s already a sorry state of affairs in the household.  It took every ounce of self-control I had not to tidy the clutter, but I managed to plant myself in my desk chair and produce another 600 words.

Here are some examples of the deterioration of the house and general state of anarchy resulting from just four days of Mommy on NaNoWriMo:

IMG_5532 IMG_5535

IMG_5536 IMG_5537

I found oldest playing hockey, outside, in the dark.

IMG_5533

I found this guy walking around the family room eating a messy chocolate doughnut.

IMG_5527

But in spite of the unopened mail strewn about the kitchen, the disaster area of my desk, the unfolded laundry on unmade beds, and the frightening levels of freedom my children have found, there is something good to show for all of this.

My four day word count.

IMG_5542

Happy NaNoWriMo!

One thought on “Diary: NaNoWriMo, Day 4

  1. Heather J. says:

    “I found oldest playing hockey, outside, in the dark.” Hmm, and this is out of the ordinary? ‘Cause at my house, this is a regular occurance … ~LOL~

Leave a Reply

