Casting Call

I’m a visual person.

I see scenes as film before I write them.   I hear the soundtrack, see the setting, and can visualize the lighting.  I started my last novel as a screenplay, but I found the format too tedious.  That doesn’t change the fact that my writing comes from my imagination, which works like film.

One of the ways I’m able to better visualize the characters in my books is to cast them.  I get inspiration for my stories by choosing actors, printing out headshots to go with my character bio’s, and watching clips of the actors on Youtube or in movies.  The actor becomes the Muse, and the writing flows from it. Sometimes the actors change, or I can clearly see more than one actor in a part, but I can’t tell you how helpful this process is to me as a writer.   (It’s also a lot of fun.)

Below, I’ve posted links to some of the “cast” of the book I’m working on now.  Take a look, and let me know what you think. Do you cast your books?  If so, who are your characters?

Ernest Hemingway

Pauline Hemingway

Protagonist: Hemingway Housekeeper

Love Interest/WW1 Vet

Friend/ WW1 Vet

Leave a Reply

