Christmas List (In no particular order)

This is the time of year I start going crazy, because I have to stop buying books so others can buy them for me.  I’ve pretty much sent all of my gift bearers to various indie and chain bookstores for gift cards so I can spread the wealth, but here’s the list of what I want.  This is off the top of my head, by the way.  I’m sure I’ll add more.
What’s on your wish list?  Any books on mine that you a) love, b) hate, c) would suggest?
  • Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel
  • The Reincarnationist by M. J. Rose
  • The Last Will of Moira Leahy by Therese Walsh
  • Tethered by Amy MacKinnon
  • Thirsty by Kristin Bair O’Keeffe
  • The Children’s Book by A. S. Byatt
  • Angel Time by Anne Rice
  • The Embers by Hyatt Bass
  • The Help by Kathryn Stockett
  • Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger
  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  • An Echo in the Bone by Diana Gabaldon
  • The People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks
  • South of Broad by Pat Conroy
  • Under the Dome by Steven King
  • The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry
  • Julie and Julia by Julie Powell
  • In the Company of the Courtesan by Sarah Dunant
  • Girl in Hyacinth Blue by Susan Vreeland
  • Mistress of the Sun by Sandra Gulland
  • Time of My Life by Allison Winn Scotch
  • Girls in Trouble by Caroline Leavitt
  • Precession by Abigail Arrington
  • Career Renegade by Jonathan Fields
  • The Last Dickens by Matthew Pearl
  • An Uncommon History of Common Things by Bethanne Patrick
  • Second Chance by Jane Green
  • A Movable Feast by Ernest Hemingway (Newly revised edition)
6 thoughts on “Christmas List (In no particular order)

  1. Kelly says:

    Gosh I barely recognize any of these. I want to read The Lace Reader. And Lolita by Nabokov. And Posession–who did you tell me wrote that? And Lorca’s Poet in New York, this is the one I really want to get my hands on and turns out the library here doesn’t have it so I need to get a Talbot County Card before I can learn if its in state circulation. Blah blah blah. Tyring not accumulate you know. Your book voraciousness astounds me. It is lovely. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Eileen says:

    Thanks for the list! I am off to Borders this week to put together my list as well. I will have to bring your list with me to see what they’re all about. I haven’t heard of many of them either. Oh, I do have “Julie and Julia”…do not waste a Christmas present on this one! You can have my copy. I didn’t love it…got kind of bored halfway through but you are welcome to it. Hey, have you read “Pillars of the Earth”? I just finished it and LOVED it!! Need to go find the second one…World Without End (?not sure of the title).

  3. Erika Robuck says:

    I’m in the middle of World Without End. Love it!

    • sharingmystory says:

      The Help is on my shelf right now – hope to read it this year. I LOVED People of the Book (on audio) and The Book Thief. Hope you get what you want this year!

  4. Jennifer RaVell says:

    Erika,
    I just read two books – historical fiction- that I would recommend. Both are by the same author – Lynn Austin.

    1. Candle in the Darkness
    2. Fire by Night

Leave a Reply

