Writers, Does This Happen To You?

My hands are shaking, my stomach hurts, and I haven’t slept well in a week.  I’m frantic when I’m not writing, I’m frantic when I am writing, and I still don’t know how it’s all going to turn out.

I’m talking about the climax of my book.

I had to apologize to my family on Monday because I was being quite nasty–snapping at people left and right for no good reason, and casting a general black cloud over the household–because I’m so distraught over what’s going on in my book.

Is this normal, or do I need to seek psychiatric help?  These are characters, after all–not real people, but I think what’s making me feel so awful is that this terrible hurricane in 1935 that I’m writing about DID happen. Hundreds of people died as a result of it.  My characters are going through it right now, and I don’t know which ones will make it.

When reading a book, have you ever gotten to the climax and you just couldn’t put it down, and if you had to, you were tethered to it throughout your day in everything you did?  That’s how it is for writers–at least, this writer.  I wish I could cut myself off from this book and come up for air, but I need to keep pushing through these scenes.  If I don’t, I won’t be able to reach the calm after the storm, and I desperately want to get there.

Writers, does this happen to you? (Please tell me I’m not alone.)

2 thoughts on “Writers, Does This Happen To You?

  1. Kelly says:

    o god, grl.

    thank you thank you thank you for reminding us that we AREN’T alone. this madness isn’t exclusionary, ordinary or practical but it is OUR life, those of us so blessed to heed it’s Call. this is great, tiresome fear-full/fear-less work. as you create it, so it creates you, and equally important, us, too. thank you for sharing for WE, the collective tribe of nuts out here on the firing line, too, need it. from each other, from ourselves, as ordination, as reminder, as dictate and call to what we are born to do.

    YAY! & amen amen amen…

  2. Meredith says:

    I’ve never written a book, but I’d kinda hope the writer goes through that type of thing… Being so involved. A good book to read was probably an even better one to write.

Leave a Reply

