Authors to Watch

I’m taking a break from my regularly scheduled historical fiction book reviews to highlight some wonderful contemporary fiction authors.  These are writers I learned about through Twitter.  They are first time authors.  I read the opening pages of their work on Amazon, and because I was so intrigued, bought and downloaded the books on my Kindle.  Let me emphasize that I usually stick to historical fiction, and if I hadn’t learned about these books the way that I did I probably would not have bought them.  (I take you through my little path to purchasing these books to illustrate that ebooks are not all evil and may actually help authors expand their audiences.)

Without further ado, here are my brief endorsements.  I’ve included links so you can read more about them.

The Embers by Hyatt Bass

The story of a family broken by tragedy and infidelity, and how they pick up the pieces.  Raw, emotional, and compelling, The Embers deals with old pains in new ways, making it an entirely original family drama.

The Murderer’s Daughters by Randy Susan Meyers

The Murderer’s Daughters follows the lives of two sisters, Merry and Lulu, after the day their father kills their mother, stabs Lulu, and attempts to kill himself.  From foster care, to college, to love, and life beyond, Merry and Lulu try to step out from the shadow of their father’s sins, and find redemption in their own lives.  Meyers tackles a very difficult subject with grace and authenticity.

If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This by Robin Black

Robin Black’s short story collection, If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This, is one of the best books I’ve read this year.  The care with which she handles her characters as they navigate loss is so tender and honest that the characters are alive on the page, very sympathetic, and true-ly reflect life’s struggles.

One thought on “Authors to Watch

  1. Kristan says:

    Ooo, all of these books look great. Thanks for sharing them. I’ve particularly always been curious about how the children/families of “serious” criminals deal with life afterward…

Leave a Reply

