Giveaway! Free Book!

It’s Friday and it’s time for a giveaway!

In a recent discussion with some friends, we talked about our favorite books of last year.  Many of us named Kathryn Stockett’s The Help as our favorite.

The Help is set in the south in 1962 as civil rights issues are simmering to a boil.  It unflinchingly explores the relationships between black housekeepers and the white women for whom they work.  (Click here for a full review.)

I’ve always been drawn to books about race relations, from slavery to civil rights, across cultures and times.  I find that it’s a constant theme in my own writing. Some of my favorite books dealing with these issues and their effects are Toni Morrison’s Beloved, Ernest Gaines A Lesson Before Dying, Michael Ondaatje’s The English Patient, Edward P. Jones’ The Known World, and now, Stockett’s The Help.

I’m giving away a copy of The Help. All you have to do to win is leave a comment about the best book you’ve read dealing with race relations, and why it moved you.  On Tuesday, I’ll do a random drawing of all those who commented, to award the book.

Good luck!  I can’t wait to read your recommendations!!

7 thoughts on “Giveaway! Free Book!

  1. Domenica McGrath says:

    “Same Kind of Different as Me” by Ron Hall and Denver Moore is a true story about the relationship that develops between a wealthy art dealer and a homeless man from the south . Denver Moore is a black man who grows up enduring modern day slavery and ends up in a homeless shelter in Texas as an adult (it’s hard to believe there is such thing as modern day slavery) . Ron Hall and his wife Debbie are moved to help the homeless in this shelter and befriend Denver who becomes a very important part of their family.

  2. I can’t say it was the best book, but I found her way of subtle weaving of race throughout the novel to be interesting: “The Secret Life of Bees” by Sue Monk Kidd

  3. JaneGS says:

    I’m really looking forward to reading this book, so I hope I win, as I’m about 35th in the library queue.

    I’m going unoriginal with my comment about best book about race relations–it’s impossible to top To Kill a Mockingbird. I have twin 9th graders who read it for school this year, and I’m think about doing a reread this summer. One of the all-time best books ever.

    Native Son by Richard Wright was an eye opener when I read it forever ago in high school. The Secret Life of Bees is also a favorite, and I found The Wind Done Gone pretty interesting as well.

  4. Carol Wong says:

    Bento Box in the Heartland by Linda Furiya is interesting approach to race relations. This is autobiographical and instead of relating the situations where she was not accepted in her school and her friends, it tells of her own struggle with accepting her Japanese background including Japanese foods and customs. Loved this book!

  5. Rebecca Booth says:

    An epic work of fiction deeply rooted in historical fact, CANE RIVER spans a hundred turbulent years to trace the lives of women who battled unspeakable injustices to create a legacy of hope and achievement. Opening in 1834 on a medium-size Creole plantation worked by French-speaking slaves, the novel boldly explores the intricate relationships between slaves and slave owners, and provocative issues of class and racism within the black community. With profound insight into the social hierarchies and everyday brutalities, the emotional complexities and agonizing choices, LALITA TADEMY vividly captures the resilience and courage of four generations of flesh-and-blood women.

    I loved this book

  6. Amy O'Donnell says:

    One book that I enjoyed in book club this year was Run, by Ann Patchett. We are introduced to an upper class white family who adopted two babies in their city, whom are African American. These boys are then raised by a single father, who is the mayor of their city, often putting the family in the political spotlight. The boys are unaware that their mother, who gave them up so many years ago, is living a very different life just a few short miles away. Throughout the book, all the characters learn lessons in race, politics, and love.

    I also can’t wait to read The Help. I’ve heard nothing but good things about it.

  7. erikarobuck says:

    ****Winner: Anjanette!!!**** Congratulations!! DM me your address.

    We did a very scientific drawing: My husband picked the name out of a hat. 🙂

    Thanks so much to all of you who commented. I look forward to reading your recommendations, if I haven’t already done so.

Leave a Reply

