Roundtable (& a Giveaway)

Yesterday, I had the opportunity to go to the Algonquin Hotel in New York for a Publishing Roundtable meeting. Authors, marketing professionals, book bloggers, critics, and editors met for lunch and pub talk. Bethanne Patrick organized the event, along with Erin McHugh, while Melissa Klug contributed lots of swag. It was my first Tweet-Up (twitter meet-up) and I can’t say enough about the lovely, smart, fantastically bookish people I met there.

Aside from the opportunity to meet Twitter friends in person to make real connections, the best thing about the Roundtable was the passion each person in the room had for books. Whether discussing paper or digital, romance or historical, classics or contemporary the room was saturated with love for books and reading, and the desire to inspire that in others. I don’t want to get too sentimental, but the positive energy for books was contagious and uplifting. It was the perfect antidote to the current dismal mood in publishing. I’m so grateful to Bethanne and all of those who had a part in organizing the event, and I hope to attend more in the future.

To spread some of the joy (and swag) and to support Bethanne’s great push for reading (#fridayreads on Twitter) I’m going to give away* two of the beautiful, leather bound journals Melissa brought. All you have to do is tell me the book you are currently reading (or intend to read) in the comments section. If you can write a sentence or two about the book, all the better. I’ll announce the winners on Tuesday.

Happy Reading! 🙂

(*Winners will be chosen by the highly scientific paper-in-hat method.)

18 thoughts on “Roundtable (& a Giveaway)

  1. Jael says:

    I don’t need to be eligible for the drawing, since I already have one of the journals, but I wanted to say YES! The enthusiasm for books was contagious and exciting. And anyone who feels pessimistic about publishing needs only five minutes with these pro-book people to feel energizing and optimistic again. Great to meet you in person, Erika!

  2. Jennifer Pratt says:

    I am reading two books The Help by Kathryn Stockett and When Everything Changed: The Amazing Journey of American Women From 1960 to the Present by Gail Collins. The Help is a great book, sad time in America but the stories are profund and really keep me turning the pages to see what happens to the ladies in the book. The book When Everything Changed is a great history of the progress that women have made since the 1960s. It is interesting reading The Help which is set in the South in the 60s and then picking up from there and reading the progress of women since that time in When Everything CHanged. As a working mother of two I find the book When Everything Changed fascinating both in terms of how far we have come and also how much farther we still have to go!

  3. Traci Curtis says:

    I just purchased the book Unbearable Lightness written by Porsche DeRossi because I want to hear her story. I am not enticed by her being “famous”, but intrigued by her past. I too have struggled with eating disorders in my past and what I love about a story like this is when you peel away someone’s layers you realize how we are all really the same. Take away her outer shell and inside she has suffered the same as I have. I have not started reading, but watched an interview. We’ll see if I get anything out of it – no matter what I respect her for opening up to the public.

    Also on my nightstand is Sarah’s Key and Shanghai Girls. I was also just told by a librarian friend, that she is reading The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks about the woman whose cells are still alive today after so many years…it’s both scientific and her biography wrapped into one story and is supposed to be amazing! I’ve got a lot of reading to do…

  4. Hallie says:

    So happy that you got to meet all those awesome people. I can only imagine the energy and brilliance that was circulating in that room. Just awesome!

    I have in my possession The Last Will of Moira Leahy by Therese Walsh. It’s a story about loss, love, grief, lost chances, and facing the secrets of one’s past. It sounds so intriguing and the cover is gorgeous. I am starting it during Thanksgiving, right after I REREAD Receive Me Falling by the lovely Erika Robuck! 🙂 I think it is a wonderful first novel and it was beautifully written. You convinced me that you had been to Nevis before.

    As always, thanks for sharing your adventures. I am living vicariously through you, you know. 🙂

  5. Erika Robuck says:

    Jael–Great to meet you, too!

    Jennifer–Well said!

    Traci–I can relate. Please let me know how you like the book, and thank you for sharing that. As far as HENRIETTA LACKS, I can’t recommend it enough. I just finished SARAH’S KEY and I’ll have a review of that up before the weekend. It’s a heartbreaking but worthy read.

    Hallie–I can’t wait to meet you in person (and on SKYPE soon!) and you are very kind about RMF. I think you will really enjoy THE LAST WILL. Great book by a great girl!

  6. Jordan P says:

    While most of my reading lately has been my GRE prep book, I’m also reading The Odyssey again. Love it so much more when it’s not for a class but for pleasure!

  7. I’m reading “Mosquito Advertising” by the brilliant @katelhunter – a Twitter friend I found in Oz (of course)!! It’s a YA novel that you’d be happy to pass on to family and friends…will be doing a review on my blog once I finish!

  8. Ami says:

    I just finished The Other Boleyn Girl, which I loved. I hadn’t expected to like it because I’m not normally a fan of historical fiction (although I’m sure I’d love your books, Erica!). I’m currently reading Autobiography of a Yogi (required reading for my yoga teacher training), and Skinny Bitching (essays about the single 30-something life). And as always, I’ve got a couple dozen others on my bookshelf waiting for me to get to them. 🙂

  9. As I too attended the TweetUp I am not in need of the wonderful journal. I couldn’t have said it better…the overall feel is contagious. It was great meeting you

  10. Amy says:

    I recently finished “The Gift of an Ordinary Day” by Katrina Kenison. Ms. Kenison speaks to my soul as she tells the story of her own life with her kids. She beautifully writes how her boys grow up, no matter what, and how she wants to hold on to each ordinary day with them and her husband. I’ve been trying to do just that, and it’s hard with the hustle and bustle of kids in general. I’ve been enjoying living in the moment, and I’m glad I have a blog to keep track of my ordinary days. Another great book by Ms. Kenison that I’ve read already is “Mitten Strings for God”.

  11. Helena says:

    I am re-reading Natalie Goldberg’s “Long Quite HIghway”, about “waking up in America”.

  12. Erika Robuck says:

    I love seeing what you all are reading!

    Marnie–Great to meet you, too.

    Amy–ORDINARY DAY sounds wonderful!

  13. JaneGS says:

    I stopped in at The Algonquin last time I was in NYC just to have a look. It was wonderful–I just replaced a lost copy of The Years with Ross by James Thurber and can’t wait to read it again in anticipation of another visit to the hotel.

    I’m currently reading Adam Bede by George Eliot. I’m currently reading a bio of Eliot, very slowly, and reading her books in order as I get to the point in the bio where they are discussed. It is a beautiful portrait of rural England in the early 1800s, and I’ve learned so much about the realities of tenant farming just by reading it.

  14. HA says:

    Strangers at the Feast by Jennifer Vanderbes. Loved her historical ficiton piece, Easter Isand! It is on my top 5 list of best books ever read, so I was very excited to dive into her new piece, which is perfect for this month due to its Thanksgiving setting. The author’s love/interest in anthropology comes through in every chapter, every character. I have been forced to pace myself, so as not to finish too far ahead of book club on Wednesday!

  15. Dina says:

    Strangers at the Feast by Jennifer Vanderbees. Loved her first novel, Easter Island, which I read several years ago and is still on my top 5 list of all-time book club faves! So, of course, I was exctied to dive into her new piece. The author’s intense interest in anthropology is now shined on a modern day American family, and is set around a Thanksgiving meal, so it is a perfect November read I am about 2/3 finished, having to pace myself so I didn’t finish too far ahead of the club meeting (or in one night, for that matter!).

  16. Emily says:

    Hi Erika–
    I’m in Hallie’s bookclub, and she’s spoken so highly of you that I HAD to start following you on Twitter and reading your blog! I have about 50 pages left of Receive Me Falling!!! Loving it so far….thanks for sharing it with our club.

    Next up on my nightstand is a book my mom gave me, Enemy Women by Paulette Jiles…. I love me some historical fiction : )

    Thanks, again!

  17. erikarobuck says:

    Jane–I love the idea of reading Eliot’s books as you reach that point in her biography.

    Emily–I’m so glad you’re enjoying it! Hallie is wonderful and I’m so happy to have “met” her on Twitter.

    Best of luck, everyone!

Leave a Reply

