Best Books of the Year

If you’d like some last minute gift ideas, I’d like to recommend my top ten favorite books I read in 2010. It was very difficult to narrow the list to just ten. These are books that changed me, that I haven’t been able to stop thinking about, or that knocked me over with the sheer power of their literary finesse.  The books on this list weren’t necessarily published this year but I read them this year, and they are in no particular order.

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay

The Children’s Book by A. S. Byatt

Luncheon of the Boating Party by Susan Vreeland

The Postmistress by Sarah Blake

Claude and Camille by Stephanie Cowell

If I Loved You I Would Tell You This by Robin Black

Devotion by Dani Shapiro

Mistress of the Sun by Sandra Gulland

Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel

I’m building my list of books to read in 2011, so please tell me the best books you’ve read this year.

 

*Photo by seppukuu, courtesy of DeviantArt.com

8 thoughts on “Best Books of the Year

  1. I’m pleased that MISTRESS OF THE SUN is in such fine company, Ericka!

    *****
    Website: http://www.sandragulland.com/
    Blog: http://sandragulland.blogspot.com/
    Facebook: http://bit.ly/sgullandFacebook

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Sandra Gulland, Erika Robuck, Bristol Prize and others. Bristol Prize said: RT @ErikaRobuck: Tweeple on my top 10 reads of 2010: http://bit.ly/gdEzh6 @tatianaderosnay, @StephanieCowell, @Robin_Black, @danijshapir … […]

  3. I’ve been recommending True Grit by Charles Portis and Woe to Live on by Daniel Woodrell. The Coen Brothers adapted the novel for a new version of the John Wayne film that comes out this week. Ang Lee adapted Woe to Live On into the (criminally under-rated and -appreciated) film Ride with the Devil. Another Woodrell book (I haven’t read it) was adapted into this year’s indie film darling Winter’s Bone.

  4. Domenica McGrath says:

    The Art of Racing In the Rain Garth Stein

    I decided to read this book based on a recommendation through the e-reader site (I probably would not have read it otherwise) and It was one of the best books I have read ever! Beautifully and thoughtfully written, I hear they are making it into a movie, however, I don’t see how it can come close to the emotion in the book.

  5. Laura says:

    Thanks for this list! I love hearing about other people’s favorite books. Off the top of my head, the books that bowled me over this year are The Help and The Lacuna.

  6. […] books of the year? Erika over at Muse is posting about her favorite books this year. Naturally, all sorts of cool people are contributing their book picks in the comments. Mine is The […]

  7. Thank you so much for including CLAUDE & CAMILLE: A NOVEL OF MONET! I am so happy to be in such exalted literary company and for your kindness! Best holiday wishes!

  8. Hallie says:

    Three of those are on my to-read list! I really liked The Help & Receive Me Falling. Of course, my Outlander books are always up there as well. Great list and look forward to your 2011’s!

Leave a Reply

