Two Book Recommendations

Lately, I’ve been reading a lot of heavy historical fiction and gothic page turners with ambiguous endings.  While I love these kinds of books, I do like to tread in other waters from time to time.

I had the recent privilege of reading two books by Twitter friends, and I’d like to share them with you if you’re looking for a read somewhat more lighthearted and uplifting than my last few recommendations.

The first is SAVING CEE CEE HONEYCUTT by Beth Hoffman. It was published in January of 2010 and is 320 pages of sweet, Southern charm.  It is the story of young Cecelia, sent to Savannah, Georgia in 1967 to live with her great-aunt Tootie, following the death of her mentally ill mother. Cee Cee’s friendship with Tootie’s housekeeper, Oletta, and the colorful, eccentric group of women that parade through Cee Cee’s new sweeping Southern home teach her about the power of love, forgiveness, and starting anew.

My second recommendation came from a Goodreads giveaway: THE BIRD SISTERS by Rebecca Rasmussen.  The book is 287 pages and will be released on April 12, 2011.  It’s told in two time periods and recounts how the lives of sisters Twiss and Milly were forever changed from the events of one hot Wisconsin summer when their cousin Bett came to visit.

Both of these novels have memorable characters and satisfying conclusions. Hoffman and Rasmussen deliver a fine blend of historical and women’s fiction that touched my heart even after I finished reading.

4 thoughts on “Two Book Recommendations

  1. Lovely reviews, Erika! Thank you so very much! 🙂

  2. Hi Erika — I’ve been seeing your name at a lot of the same blogs I read, and have enjoyed scrolling through yours this morning.

    I also loved Saving Cee Cee Honeycutt, and am eagerly awaiting Rebecca’s book. She is sweetness personified.

Leave a Reply

