Review: All Different Kinds of Free

ADKF Cover web

All Different Kinds of Free by Jessica McCann will be published on April 1, and is 260 pages.  I received a galley for review from the publisher, and I couldn’t put it down.

ADKF is the story of how the comfortable life of free woman of color, Margaret Morgan, is irrevocably altered when the widow of her former owner sends a bounty hunter to reclaim her and her children as property to be sent to auction. What follows is a series of horrific events that crush and destroy a family, but never the spirit of the courageous, honorable, and remarkable Margaret.

I had never heard Margaret Morgan’s story or the landmark case of Prigg vs. Pennsylvania that contributed to the rumblings leading up to the Civil War. I’ve also never before read such detailed, heart-rending accounts of slave auctions or injustice against free people of color in the nineteenth century. McCann perfectly balances history and story, and her cast of characters is unforgettable.

There is a great new voice in historical fiction, and it is Jessica McCann.

7 thoughts on “Review: All Different Kinds of Free

  1. Thank you so much for reading my book, Erika, and for loving it. Knowing that you’re not only a voracious reader but also an accomplished historical fiction author, I’m truly honored and humbled by your wonderful review. It took my breath away.

  2. Erika Robuck says:

    The pleasure was all mine. It was so fantastic! Thank YOU!

  3. I’m so glad you liked it! The story was tough for me to read at times yet I couldn’t put it down.

    Your review says it all.

  4. Eileen Cortese says:

    Oooohhhh…this one sounds fantastic and horrible at the same time. Sounds like a great story but the idea of reading about bounty hunters and slave auctions is a little scary for me. I can handle it all in the abstract, but not the detail. Still, I think it will be worth the read…can ‘t wait for April 1. Any idea if it will be on Kindle?

  5. Thanks Hallie and Eileen! And yes, the book will be in trade paperback, as well as Kindle, Nook and a few other ebook formats.

  6. Erika Robuck says:

    Eileen, it’s worth the heartache, trust me!

  7. Cathy Weir says:

    Loved it! Couldn’t put it down…….. except to grab another tissue.

Leave a Reply

