The Deal!

Greetings!

The last two weeks have been very quiet on my blog, but they’ve been very active in my life. If you haven’t already heard, I’m thrilled to announce that NAL/Penguin offered me a two book deal for my novel, HEMINGWAY’S GIRL, and my current WIP (work in progress.) This happened while I was on the North Carolina coast with my family last week. Needless to say, negotiating contracts with an agent and editor while sharing a beach house with three families and five boys under the age of nine is a challenge; but God bless my family for herding the children out of the house so I could hide inside, on the phone.

The week after the deal involved a roller coaster of emotions, announcements, and organization and I’ve finally (for the minute) settled into a joyfully optimistic professional working mode. The biggest mental adjustment I’ve had to make in this process is to fully acknowledge that I now have a full time job and I work for someone else. When I self-published my first novel, RECEIVE ME FALLING, and even as I thought about self-publishing HEMINGWAY’S GIRL, I worked at my own pace and made all decisions myself. That has changed, and I’m ready to embrace that change and take my writing to the next level.

All along this process I’ve read so much about how to get an agent and a publisher, but I’ve read almost nothing about what happens after the deal. I’m going to blog about my own experiences in hopes of shedding light on the process for other writers.

But today, I’m just going to celebrate.  I’ve dreamed about this since I was a child, and I want to be mindful of this fresh new place and all of the promise it holds before it becomes my reality.

Thank you for all of your well wishes and encouragement. So many of you have given me so much along the way. There aren’t enough words to express my gratitude to my husband, children, parents, family, writing partner, and friends for how they’ve supported me.

Much love,

Erika

12 thoughts on “The Deal!

  1. I am so totally thrilled for you, Erika. 🙂 And having just started working for a literary agency, I feel confident in saying that NAL/Penguin have made a brilliant decision!

    Ever since you and I ‘met’ on Twitter and I had the pleasure of reading Receive Me Falling, I knew that it was only a matter of time before a traditional publisher would be able to see what I did. Your writing is accessible, your characters compelling and your stories informative without ever boring your readers with dry history. In short, you’re just my kind of writer!

    Congratulations again and I look forward to reading your impressions of the crazy publishing process!! xo

  2. Erika Robuck says:

    Such kind words, Anj. Thank you.

  3. Cingratulations, Erika! It couldn’t have happened to a nicer person. Have fun with this new success. Best wishes for more to come!

  4. Hallie says:

    I can’t think of a better place to be when you got the news! Surrounded by the ones that have been there for you from the beginning! I can’t begin to tell you how proud I am of you, how inspiring you are, and what a huge impact you have made on me in my writing.

    I cherish our friendship and can’t wait to see where the next part of your journey takes you. I think I might need a telescope, however, to keep up! 🙂

    XO’s to infinity!
    Love,
    H

  5. I love happy stories, Erika! Thank you so much for putting it out there for us to follow and read about, as well as learn from what you’re learning. You’re an inspiration to us all. Congratulations! I can’t imagine anything better happening to a more wonderful person. Enjoy cloud nine and keep reaching for the stars!

    xo Jennifer

  6. Erika Robuck says:

    Wow, you all are so sweet. Thank you!!

  7. Stephanie says:

    I’m new to your blog. Congratulations on the book deal! I can only imagine how excited you are. I’m looking forward to anything you share about the process of publication. Or about your story, when you can.

  8. Nina Badzin says:

    Erika- Tracy and I were talking about your book deal at Muse and how elated we were when we first heard the news . . . as elated as if we’d be friends since childhood or sisters or something. People shouldn’t underestimate the power of virtual connections. You put out such good energy and you clearly work hard. It’s no surprise to me that you’re reaping the rewards. I will continue rooting you on! Nina 🙂

    • Erika Robuck says:

      Nina, I feel the exact same way about all of you. I try to make my family understand how strong the connection is with fellow writers. We have so much in common and understand so much about each other because of what we do. Twitter has been a huge positive in my life and I’m thankful for all of you, truly.

  9. Congrats again!!! Please keep posting on your process. We all have so much to learn!!

Leave a Reply

