Book Review & Giveaway: THE DOCTOR’S LADY

THE DOCTOR’S LADY by Jody Hedlund was published this month and is 374 pages. I requested a copy for review because of how much I enjoyed Jody’s first book, THE PREACHER’S BRIDE. I ended up loving this book even more!

The novel begins in 1836 in Angelica, New York, where Priscilla White, an unmarried woman with a wish to be a Christian missionary in India, waits to find out her assignment. Her life takes an unexpected turn, however, when Dr. Eli Ernest, a single man in need of a wife in order to accept the sponsorship of the Mission Board for his own mission into the West, makes her a business proposal. If she will agree to marry him, on paper alone, they will get the approval of the Board, and each will be able to fulfill their calling. When she agrees, they set out on an adventure that takes them from New York, to Pittsburgh, to St. Louis, to Oregon Country where they not only discover much about the new land and people there, but their own hearts.

One of my favorite aspects of THE DOCTOR’S LADY is the historical rendering of the unexplored American wilderness. I was fascinated to learn about modes of transport, early settlements, and the interactions between Native peoples and whites. It is clear that Ms. Hedlund did her research, and she perfectly balances information and narrative.

I also enjoy the style in which the book is written. Ms. Hedlund paints such vivid portraits of her settings and characters that I could see every scene as clearly as if it was on film. She is also a master of tension and plotting. I turned pages long into the night, and finished the book in three days.

Finally, THE DOCTOR’S LADY represents quality romance reading. As a work of Christian historical romance, the faith of the characters in spite of adversity, and the purity of the love story are a breath of fresh air without ever feeling heavy-handed or overly-idealistic. Priscilla and Eli are human, realistically drawn characters and I missed them after I closed the pages of the book.

If you are a fan of historical romance, I highly recommend THE DOCTOR’S LADY. And because I enjoyed it so much, I’d like to give away a copy of the book. If you would like to win, kindly leave a comment about why this book sounds interesting to you, what you enjoyed about THE PREACHER’S BRIDE, or why you love historical fiction, in general. I will randomly select the winner on Friday, September 23rd.

Best of luck!

For more on Jody or her books, please visit her website at: http://jodyhedlund.blogspot.com/

15 thoughts on “Book Review & Giveaway: THE DOCTOR’S LADY

  1. Marnie Caldwell says:

    I need to get a copy of this book!

  2. Marnie Caldwell says:

    I LOVED Jody’s first book and think she has a gift for bringing history alive. I’ve referred about a dozen people to her first one and look forward to reading this new one and recommending it, too.

  3. Kim F says:

    What a great review – it sounds like this story would make a great movie!!

  4. I just think this book sounds so good. It will be a marriage of convenience at first. Will it turn into something more? I’m hoping so! I think that Priscilla White has a strong desire to be a servant of God by serving as a Christian missionary in India. I would love to see what happens and how God works in Priscilla’s life as well as in Dr. Eli Ernest life.

    Blessings,
    Judy B.

  5. Ivana Watkins says:

    I’m in the process of reading “The Preacher’s Bride” and I am thrilled. Elisabeth had me at hello, her attitude reminds me so much of myself. Every scene is so well described and thought out that I’ve been thinking about this book long after I put it down last night. I couldn’t wait for morning to come so that I can go back to reading. Because of all this, I would absolutely love to read “The Doctor’s Lady”.

    Best wishes,
    Ivana

  6. I look forward to reading a historical including the faith needed to survive the hardships. I have not yet read the first book, but it is on my list to be read. I’m writing a historical pioneering story about a Highlander who comes to Canada … but I still have the option to change his destination. Advisors say books about Canada don’t sell in the US. Hmmm. Thirty Million in Canada versus Three hundred million in the US.

    I love books that reveal pioneering history.

  7. THE DOCTOR’S LADY sounds wonderful. I love books set in this time period, and this one sounds like such a unique story. For historical Christian romance fans, I highly recommend Rossyln Elliott’s debut, FAIRER THAN MORNING. It was my first in this genre, and a truly great read.

  8. erikarobuck says:

    Thanks for all of your comments, and for your recommendation, Jessica!

  9. I enjoyed Jody’s first book as well for the exact reasons you mentioned for The Doctor’s Lady. She has the perfect blend of elements and has turned my eye towards more books in her genre. She is a phenomenal storyteller.

    Can’t wait to read this one. Awesome review!

  10. Liz Johnson says:

    I keep hearing how wonderful this book is and I love a good marriage of convenience story. Hope to get to read it soon.
    Liz

  11. emily says:

    I really enjoyed Jody’s first book, The Preacher’s Bride, and have been keeping my eye on her waiting for her next one! So excited to read it!!

  12. Yay, Emily! Maybe I get to borrow it when you’re done. 🙂

Leave a Reply

