Book Review: AT THE MERCY OF THE QUEEN

AT THE MERCY OF THE QUEEN by Anne Clinard Barnhill was published in January of this year and is 464 pages. I heard about Anne from the writers’ group, Book Pregnant, and because I love Anne Boleyn stories, I bought the novel. I am delighted that I did.

Set during the years of King Henry VIII’s marriage to Anne Boleyn, AT THE MERCY OF THE QUEEN provides a fresh take on an oft told story. The protagonist of the novel is the queen’s cousin, Lady Margaret Shelton, and it is through her eyes that we watch the rise and fall of the queen and those around her. Margaret’s story of forbidden love and arranged marriage is front and center with the drama of Henry and Anne in the background, but it is when the stories become inevitably bound together that the tension renders the novel riveting.

Barnhill’s attention to period detail and her command of the language and customs of the era mark her as a true force in historical fiction. If you love novels of Tudor England, you simply must read AT THE MERCY OF THE QUEEN.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: AT THE MERCY OF THE QUEEN

  1. Anne Barnhill says:

    Thank you SO much for the kind and generous review–I’m so happy you liked the book!

  2. I am a big Boleyn fan as well. This was already on my wishlist but I’m glad to see you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

