Book Trailer in Key West

You must be forewarned: this is going to be a gushing, exclamation point filled post, but that is what a moving experience it was for me in Key West last week, filming the book trailer for HEMINGWAY’S GIRL.

I must start by publicly acknowledging God and the huge blessings he pours over me on a daily basis, and my family for taking such good care of my boys while I was away. I also need to thank my publisher, NAL/Penguin, for producing this book trailer, and the incredible husband and wife team, David and Kathryn Seay, for their enthusiasm, kindness, and professionalism. They made me feel so comfortable from our first greeting, and put me entirely at ease.

When my husband and I arrived at The Pier House Resort in Key West–travel-weary and soaked from the rain–we were greeted by a surprise that left us speechless. The Pier House’s Catherine Smiley sent us to The Hemingway Suite overlooking the Gulf, and even had fruit and refreshments waiting for us!   We were able to use the gorgeous balcony for sunset and water footage. I am overwhelmed by the generosity and hospitality of The Pier House.

When we arrived at the Hemingway House on Thursday morning, Dave Gonzales, the events coordinator, graciously allowed us to film all throughout the house and grounds, but most importantly, in Hemingway’s Writing Studio.

I’ve only ever seen the studio from the other side of a locked gate. I don’t have to tell you what it meant to me to walk into the writing space where Hemingway typed the ending of A FAREWELL TO ARMS, GREEN HILLS OF AFRICA, and countless other stories. I was able to sit at his writing desk with his writing materials, and I am still trying to process the experience.

The trailer for HEMINGWAY’S GIRL will be ready later this summer, and I can’t wait to see it and share it with all of you. David and Kathryn were lovely to work with, and Dave Gonzales, the tour guides, and staff of the Hemingway House and bookstore were so welcoming. I can’t wait to see them when I return.

Last, but not least, I want to thank those of you who cheered me along the way. I am overwhelmed by the enthusiasm of my family and friends (online and off) who continuously support me throughout this process.

I’m glowing with gratitude.

24 thoughts on “Book Trailer in Key West

  1. Can’t wait to see it, Erika! Kudos to you for taking it on. I couldn’t wrap my mind around a trailer.

  2. Wonderful!

    Erika, I am still so happy for you and thrilled for all the good things coming your way. God is good!

    I can’t wait to see the trailer and am even more excited to read HEMINGWAY’S GIRL.I thank my lucky stars that our virtual paths crossed. If they had not I would not have the love and appreciation that I do for the classics. I can’t imagine my life without Fitz. See? God really IS good.

    I wish all the best, my friend!

    C xx

    • erikarobuck says:

      C–That is so incredibly kind of you. I feel exactly the same way, and I can’t wait to cheer you on when YOU get published. Your support has meant so much to me. Thank you.

  3. Carol & Frank Damico says:

    Erica, we are so proud of your accomplishments and share your excitement ! Can’t wait to read your book!

  4. Jami says:

    I can’t wait to see it!!! You deserve every bit of this. So, so proud of you.

  5. So excited for you! It sounds like such an amazing experience. I can’t wait to see your trailer!

  6. Erika, It’s wonderful to read the thoughts behind the upcoming trailer, and to hear about your impressions from such an incredible experience. I’m so proud and happy you did it! You’re following your heart, and you can’t help go anywhere but amazing places. Congrats!

  7. I literally got chills reading this post, knowing how special this experience was for you. I can’t wait to see the trailer, and, more importantly, to shout about your release from the rooftops! Love you dearly!

  8. Best of luck to you! Looking forward to reading Hemingways’s Girl!

  9. Diane Turner says:

    Thank you for sharing your amazing journey. We both attended BONI Charleston, and I’m so happy to hear of your success! Can’t wait to read Hemingway’s Girl and see the trailer. Congratulations.

  10. lomaurice says:

    How absolutely fabulous for you!!! I know the trailer will be amazing and I will use it in my post to help promote your book. Seeing the photo of you sitting at Hem’s desk made my heart pound!

  11. This is great Erika! I’m giddy with excitement for you. (And possibly a wee bit jealous.) Oh you know what I mean.
    You’re an inspiration for me to search again for my lost muse.

  12. SO bummed that I originally missed this post, but what a FABULOUS experience, Erika! And the trailer, as I mentioned, is so lovely!

    • erikarobuck says:

      Oh, please! There are so many posts swirling around. I miss them all the time.

      Thank you so much for your enthusiasm about the trailer. I really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

