Best Reads of 2012

IMG_4028

This was indeed a magical year of reading, and it was agony picking a top ten list. As I’ve explained in the past, I only use the blog to recommend books I love, which means that there are many books I read which do not make the blog. I also deal almost exclusively in historical fiction, but that said, one book made my list this year that is not historical fiction (Shine, Shine, Shine.)

Without further ado, before I can change my mind again, and in no particular order, here is my list of favorite books read in 2012. If you click on each link, it will take you to the corresponding review.

1. Beautiful Ruins, Jess Walter

2. The Lost Wife, Alyson Richman

3. The Lighthouse Road, Peter Geye

4. Cascade, Maryanne O’Hara

5. Stoner, John Williams

6. Shine, Shine, Shine, Lydia Netzer

7. The Chaperone, Laura Moriarty

8. The House I Loved, Tatiana de Rosnay

9. The Care and Handling of Roses with Thorns, Margaret Dilloway

10. The Crown, Nancy Bilyeau

Have you read any of these books? What are your favorites of 2012?

12 thoughts on “Best Reads of 2012

  1. I always love your book recommendations, Erika! Thank you for reading and recommending to others. I still haven’t read a few of these — I need to get them on my list! Thank you, and Merry Christmas!

  2. Thank you so much, Erika! Honored to be included here.

  3. Erika,
    My husband saw that you mentioned “The Lost Wife” on your list (I see it now…) Thank you so much. Your own fantastic novel should be on the list:) Sending lots of love and gratitude this holiday season.xx

  4. lomaurice says:

    I am thrilled to see THE LOST WIFE on your list of favs. I received this book for Christmas last year. I loved it.

    http://www.mauriceonbooks.com

  5. Leah says:

    Love all your suggestions! Margaret’s book was one of my favorites this year as well.

  6. Nina Badzin says:

    I’ve only read one on your list. How crazy is that?? Beautiful Ruins is one I keep hearing about and I hope to get to it soon!

Leave a Reply

