Author Interview: Anita Hughes

Last year I had the pleasure of reading MONARCH BEACH, and fell in love with Anita Hughes’ smart, engaging style. Now Anita has released MARKET STREET, a story of friendship, betrayal, and love that NY Times bestselling author Karen White calls “a love letter to San Francisco.” Anita was kind enough to answer my author interview questions, and now I want to read the book even more.

1. What inspired you to write your novel?

I love San Francisco – the city, the people, the food, and I wanted to write a novel about the city. I also love books about female friendships and I am extremely fond of my main character and her best friend. They make me laugh out loud.

2. What is your favorite part of the writing process?

I love sitting down to my computer and just writing. Once I find my rhythm I am completely transported, I forget time and place and just write.

3. What part of the process is not your favorite?

Sometimes I get a couple of new ideas at the same time and I’m not sure what to write next. I get really torn because once I start there’s no turning back. I feel quickly responsible for my characters and need to take care of them.

4. If you could go back in time, what would you have told your unagented/ unpublished writing self?

To really enjoy the writing – it is the best part of the process – just you, the computer and the stories in your head.

5. What is your favorite novel of all time?

Of Human Bondage by Somerset Maugham – I have read all his work and it has taught me so much.

6. What is your first memory of writing?

When I was eight years old, I won a national writing contest in Australia. That was unexpected and very thrilling. I was hooked.

7. What do you most want readers to take away from your novel?

I’d like my readers to laugh, smile and feel good when they finish Market Street.

 

If you’d like to learn more about Anita, check out her website: http://anitahughesbooks.com/. I can’t wait to read MARKET STREET! 

One thought on “Author Interview: Anita Hughes

  1. lomaurice says:

    I fell in love with San Francisco a few years ago when we visited. The food, the people, the atmosphere. All yummy. Now, with all the books I have in front of me to read, this is the one I want to read.

Leave a Reply

