Count Down to Book Launch…

Call_Me_ZeldaFINAL

My new novel, CALL ME ZELDA, will be published on May 7th by NAL/Penguin. It begins in Baltimore in 1932 when Zelda Fitzgerald checks into the Phipps Clinic at Johns Hopkins, and takes place during the aftermath of the Fitzgerald party years. Through Zelda’s relationship with a fictional psychiatric nurse, the book explores the meaning of friendship, love, and how we heal from emotional injury.

CALL ME ZELDA is a book that I’ve held close to my heart for a long time, inspired by my fascination with F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald, and by the nurses I’ve known in my life (grandmother, mother-in-law, aunt, sister-in-law, friends…), who give so much of themselves to their patients. It also comes from my compassion for those who suffer mental illness and post-traumatic stress disorder, the ways they are often misunderstood, and the pain of the family members caring for them.

It is the first novel I’ve written in the first person point of view, and as a writer, that takes one very deeply into the heart and mind of the characters, for better or worse. There is an intimacy, an immediacy to first person, and this novel marks my maiden voyage of many, I think, into this point of view.

There are links on my website to pre-order CALL ME ZELDA, if you are so inclined. If you read the book and enjoy it, I invite you to post a review at your favorite online book site. My website also has listings of my upcoming book tour and festival appearances. I hope to see you on the road!

http://www.erikarobuck.com

 

10 thoughts on “Count Down to Book Launch…

  1. This makes me look so forward to reading your new book, Erika! I have just finished the first draft of a historical fiction ms in first person and so these words rang so true: “… first person point of view … takes one very deeply into the heart and mind of the characters, for better or worse.” What a remarkable, intense experience it is. I am pre-ordering Zelda immediately!

  2. Ruth says:

    “Hemingway’s Girl” was a favorite read of mine of 2012! Such a gorgeous story! I’m really looking forward to reading “Call Me Zelda”. I hope you can come to Miami!

  3. Yay, Erika. But … how can it be your next book is coming out? Doesn’t it seem that Hem’s Girl JUST released? Where is the time going? Can’t wait to read!

  4. lomaurice says:

    I am so looking forward to hand selling your lovely novel. And what a gorgeous cover. I also love the trailer.

Leave a Reply

