Author Interview: M. J. Rose

I’ve been a long-time fan of M. J. Rose. Her fiction is so evocative, imaginative, and layered that it rises above genre historical or suspense writing. Her latest novel, SEDUCTION, received a starred review from LIBRARY JOURNAL, which calls the book: “A luxurious, sensual experience for the reader….fully engrossing.” 

M. J. was kind enough to answer the questions on my author interview. Her answers are amusing and thought-provoking, and I can’t wait to read SEDUCTION.

1.What inspired you to write your novel?

Two things.

Fantine, in Les Miserables by Victor Hugo is such a tragic and heartfelt character. For a  long time after reading the book I wondered who inspired Hugo to create her? No one knows for sure… and being a writer I knew it probably wasn’t as obvious as it one might guess.

But what hooked me was stumbling on the fact that Victor Hugo spent two years of his life – while he was working on Les Miserables – conducting séances in order to contact his dead daughter. What drives a man known for his logic and reason to visit with spirits and believe he’s talking to the devil? Hugo participated in over 100 séances and claimed he spoke to everyone from Jesus to Napoleon to Dante.

2.What is your favorite part of the writing process?

My second draft.

3.What part of the process is not your favorite?

Reading the first pass page proofs. I can never ever believe, no matter how many times I do this, how much rewriting I still want to do at that point.

4. If you could go back in time, what would you have told your unagented/unpublishered writing self?

Buy stock in Amazon.

5. What is your favorite novel of all time?

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

6. What is your first memory of writing?

Sitting at the IBM Selectric typewriter with the silver ball in my grandfather’s office typing out a story about a man (who was not a clown) but wore giant sized red shoes and a hat that had wings on it that allowed him to fly. I remember how magically the ball moved and seeing the letters appear.

7. What do you most want readers to take away from your novel?

I want them to be entertained and have a great reading experience and take away the resolve to read all of my books. 🙂  But seriously, I write for me because of the escape it offers me – the cherry on top is the privilege of having people read and respond so positively to my stories.

Thank you, M. J.! 

For more on M. J. and her books, please visit her website: 

http://www.mjrose.com/content/ 

2 thoughts on “Author Interview: M. J. Rose

  1. lomaurice says:

    I have not read M.J. Rose. But I have her newest novel in galley form. I hope I get a chance to squeeze it into my growing pile of TBR’s. Good interview. I love hearing about writers’ writing processes.

Leave a Reply

