Happy Birthday, Hemingway! Giveaway

Hemingway's Girl -- jpeg

On this day in 1899, Ernest Hemingway was born. His legacy in literature has enriched the fabric of the American literary cannon, and his work is timeless. He is one of the most translated authors in the world because his simple sentence construction retains its meaning from one language to the next.

I have been a long time admirer of “Papa”, as he was known, and was inspired to write my novel, HEMINGWAY’S GIRL, after visiting his home in Key West, reading his Pulitzer Prize winning novella, THE OLD MAN AND THE SEA, and his thinly veiled memoir, A MOVEABLE FEAST.

To celebrate Hemingway’s birthday, I’m giving away one signed paperback and one signed audiobook of HEMINGWAY’S GIRL. To win, please comment below with your favorite Hemingway work, or what you’d most like to read by him if you have not yet done so. Also, kindly indicate if you would prefer to read paperback or audio. Finally, please spread the word on social media. (Contest ends Wednesday, July 24th. US only, please.)

Viva la Papa! 🙂

38 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Hemingway! Giveaway

  1. I would love an audiobook, Erika. THE SUN ALSO RISES is my favourite Hemingway. Isn’t it pretty to think so?

  2. My favorite Hemingway work is THE SUN ALSO RISESand the lesser known but no less wonderful “The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber.” My college students always love that story and its ambiguous ending. Paperback, please!

  3. Holly Faur says:

    The Old man and the Sea….paperback 🙂

  4. I would love to hear all about the time he spend in his Sun Valley. I have been there and seen his cabin. 🙂
    I would love the book, IF I should win.

  5. Darcie says:

    I want to read The old man and the sea. It seems like it will be a great read!!
    An audio copy of HG would be amazing!!

  6. Suzy says:

    I’ve always wanted to read The Importance of Being Earnest. Would love to win the paperback.

  7. rhonda says:

    The old man& the sea absolute favorite

  8. Bill Wolfe says:

    My favorite Hemingway novel is A Farewell to Arms. But I love his short stories, too.
    Paperback, please.

  9. Happy Birthday, Hemingway!!! Thanks for the lovely giveaway! I love Hemingway! My favourite would be A Moveable Feast~ but I do love them all… An autographed Paperback copy of Hemingway’s Girl would be wonderful~ Thank you and Happy Reading and Writing~ Cheers~ Elizabeth MacGregor

  10. Andrea Obranovich says:

    I love A Moveable Feast! Amazing work. The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber is also very interesting. I would love to have a signed paper copy 🙂

  11. I’m torn on the favorites: probably Old Man and The Sea, but A Moveable Feast is a recent read and I loved it. Was actually inspired to read it because I loved The Paris Wife so much. Thanks for doing this! Paperback, please. 🙂

  12. Kristin T. says:

    I’ve read The Old Man and Sea and The Sun Also Rises – and definitely need to reread both one of these days. I also read The Paris Wife, which is loosely based on his first wife and was so interesting it made me want to read more of his work.

    I’d love to win the audio version of this please.
    k2reader(at)gmail(dot)com

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  13. Terri Buccarelli says:

    I would love to have an audio book so that I might get to know Mariella’s voice! Her presence was so very strong when I read the book! Her character has stayed with me!

  14. Elizabeth Bevins says:

    First, Hemingway’s Girl is my favorite one of YOUR books. Really touched me!

    I’ve never read The Old Man and The Sea. Always intend to get to it but never do.

    My favorite Hemingway book is A Movable Feast.

    I prefer a paper book copy.

  15. cindywb says:

    I’m embarrassed to say I’ve never read anything by Hemingway, though I’ve read a lot about him. I’ve had A Moveable Feast in my to-read pile forever. Would love to win a paperback of Hemingway’s Girl. Thanks for the opportunity. Great contest!

  16. I really want to read this! Before I had ever read Hemingway, I visited his house in Key West and counted 122 cats (and one really cute one followed me around and I cried when we couldn’t take it home… I mean, who would have noticed?)

    Then I read The Old Man and the Sea in high school and became a fan. For some reason, I have yet to read For Whom the Bell Tolls, but I need to. I figure if I can recite the first line of the book then I should definitely read it. I actually just HELD a first edition of it at a local bookstore and was sad that I didn’t have the $700 or so to buy it (I got a Kipling instead).

    I first heard about Hemingway Girls after I read Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald. I was especially interested because of the novel’s portrayal of EH and I didn’t know if he had gotten a fair shake, so I’m really curious about this book!

    Off to share on social media now…

  17. Jacque says:

    Erica, Thank you for your stories! Wonderful literature – transports me right into the lives of the characters!
    Hemingway’s Girl took me right to Key West & into the lives of the Hemingway’s lives. Mariel was such a strong character – I reflected on her when I visited Hemingway’s home & the Keys.
    I am rereading “A Farewell to Arms” & want to read his short stories.
    I would like an audio edition of Hemingway’s Girl if so fortunate to receive. Erica thanks again & am looking forward to your new book!

  18. erikarobuck says:

    I’m enjoying all of your comments so much. Thank you for your kind words and shares. I wish you all luck in the giveaway!

  19. My favourite is For Whom The Bell Tolls. Such a great snapshot of Spain in it’s darkest time, with real experience used and crafted into telling a realistic story. I also love Death in the Afternoon, a portrayal of culture, blood and death in a raw masculine form. I’m a diehard paperback fan, and Hemingway is the centre of my novel collection!

  20. girlfromwva says:

    would love to read the paperback. i love his work A Farewell to Arms.

  21. Cindy Dillon says:

    Erica is such a young author. It is truly an amazing thing to be published on your first book. Congratulations to her and her family. What an honor to write about Hemingway the Great!

  22. macjam47 says:

    What is there not to love about THE OLD MAN AND THE SEA or FOR WHOM THE BELL TOLLS? This is such a wonderful way to honor Ernest Hemmingway. I have tweeted your giveaway and shared it on facebook. I am a fan of print copies and e-books over audio books.
    By the way, CALL ME ZELDA is nearing the top of my TBR pile. Looking forward to reading it.

  23. robejose says:

    The Sun Also Rises is my fave! I’d love to win the paperback copy!

    mengel2@nycap.rr.com

  24. Lauri Dahl says:

    I’m going to say A Moveable Feast is my favorite, although that is subject to change. I was introduced to Hemingway by a high school English teacher who had us read The Old Man and the Sea along with the biography “Papa” by A.E. Hotchner. That led me to do an “independent study” on Hemingway which is how I discovered A Moveable Feast and the Lillian Ross Portrait of Hemingway and many other great books by and about Hemingway. Ever since reading A Moveable Feast, I always “knock wood” because of the poignant description that EH made about how perfect his life was in Paris and he said this aloud and he didn’t knock wood even though there was wood all over the apartment. So heart-breaking.
    Even I win, I would prefer the paperback.

  25. Lauri Dahl says:

    IF (not even) – I swear that the computer changed that on its own.

  26. Maura says:

    I love all of his work. The Old Man and The Sea would be a great read while visiting his home In Key West. I loved walking through and visualizing him there in his study at work. Have never listened to him on audio and would love to give that a try.

  27. When I was a young girl, my father had an original copy of “Islands in the Stream” in his library. It had a green dust jacket with a nautical map of all the islands in the Bahamas archipelago. I couldn’t wait until I was old enough to read it; I spent many years just caressing the book, wanting to know it’s secrets. Sadly, my parents divorced and the book disappeared into the ether. To this day I have never read that book, but maybe I should scour old bookstores to see if I am meant to find it and read it. Somehow, reading any other copy would not be the same.

  28. A Moveable Feast, forever!
    And I’ve never actually read A Farewell to Arms.
    Would love a paperback.

  29. Karen W says:

    Happy Birthday! My favorite is The Old Man and The Sea!

  30. Carey says:

    Oh ya, I would prefer paperback.

  31. Carey says:

    Hi Erika!
    I loved Call Me Zelda, so would like to read Hemingway’s Girl. The only Hemingway I have read is The Old Man and the Sea, but I plan to try some others. Oddly, I am more interested in the man himself rather than his writing. 🙂

  32. Bonnie K. says:

    My favorite Hemingway’s book would be A Farewell to Arms. If I win your book, I would like a paperback copy. I love the book cover.

  33. erikarobuck says:

    I’m delighted by all of these entries, Hemingway book anecdotes, shares, and kind words. Thank you all, and best wishes in the contest!

  34. griperang says:

    I have not read any of Hemingway’s ways books but if I were to read one it would be Across the River and into the Trees. It sounds like a good book to me. Thank you for the chance to win. griperang at embarqmail dot com

  35. erikarobuck says:

    Kasey Leavitt–You have won a signed paperback of HEMINGWAY’S GIRL!!

    Cindy Dillon–You have won a signed audiobook of HEMINGWAY’S GIRL!!

    Congratulations, and thanks so much to all who participated.

Leave a Reply

