Happy Birthday, Zelda! #Giveaway

Call_Me_ZeldaFINAL

“Nobody has ever measured, not even poets, how much the heart can hold.” Zelda Sayre Fitzgerald

On this day in 1900, Zelda Sayre was born in Montgomery, Alabama. She was an accomplished painter, dancer, and writer, but is most often known for her marriage to author F. Scott Fitzgerald.

Married in 1920, the dashing young couple inspired the Jazz Age. Making flapper dresses, bobbed hair, and gin rickeys popular during Prohibition, Zelda and Scott decorated the globe from one continent to the next. They had one daughter, Scottie, born in 1921, and they lived in New York, France, Delaware, Maryland, Minnesota, and North Carolina, to name a handful of places.

Zelda died at the Highland Hospital in Asheville, North Carolina from a fire, while being treated for her recurring mental breakdowns. Zelda and Scott are buried in Rockville, MD at St. Mary’s Catholic Church.

In honor of Zelda’s birthday, I’m giving away two signed copies of my novel featuring her as a character, CALL ME ZELDA. For a chance to win a copy, please comment below about how you know about Zelda, if you’ve read her novel SAVE ME THE WALTZ, or your favorite (Zelda-inspired) work of fiction (just about all…) written by her late husband.

Please spread the word on social media, and good luck! (Contest ends Friday, July 26th, 8 AM EST. US only, please.)

29 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Zelda! #Giveaway

  1. Ruth C. says:

    After reading F. Scott Fitzgerald’s short stories in junior high, I began to read about him and found myself fascinated with Zelda and that fascination has held for all these years and I am thrilled to have passed it on to my daughters especially after we were fortunate enough to catch a special exhibit of her art work while on a visit to the Southern Vermont.Arts Center.

  2. Melissa Buck says:

    I know of her through your book and would be thrilled to have a signed copy of it 🙂

  3. Andrea Obranovich says:

    My favorite Zelda inspired work is Gatsby. Jay is so enamored with her and the emotion is so raw…it’s hard to think that it’s not autobiographical.

  4. stephanie brantley says:

    I read fitzgerald’s short stories years ago and had love/hate feelings for Ailie Calhoun in the the story The Last of the Belles. She was at times heartless, but overall I think she was just very insecure. Supposedly she was based on Zelda.

  5. girlluck13 says:

    I read The Great Gatsby in high school and have been fascinated with the Fitzgerald and flappers ever since.

  6. Suzy says:

    I read The Great Gatsby again in January of this year. I appreciated it a lot more than when I read it as a teen. I was introduced to Zelda in Woody Allen’s “Midnight in Paris.” I love that film!

  7. Lisamarie says:

    I was introduced to Zelda after reading Hemmingway’s Girl (which loved!), its been on my TBRlist. Would love a chance to win!

  8. Bill Wolfe says:

    I would love this for my son, who is a high school senior. The Great Gatsby is his favorite novel, and he has read This Side of Paradise, Tender is the Night, and several of FSF’s stories. I think he’d enjoy Call Me Zelda.

  9. Debbie says:

    What a coincidence! I just finished Call Me Zelda this morning. I have not been able to out it down. A beautiful story. This is my first visit to your blog, and I am so happy I now know about it.
    I read The Great Gatsby last summer, with my daughter, who just graduated from high school. She has become fascinated with The Fitzgerald’s as well.
    A signed copy of this book would mean the world to her! The book I just finished was a library book, and I was going to buy her her own copy before she heads off to college.
    Thank you for writing such a wonderful book, which stirred up so many emotions for me. I am next going to read Hemingway’s Girl, and Save Me The Waltz.
    Thank you.

  10. Bonnie K. says:

    I first learned of Zelda through The Great Gatsby. I’ve recently come across her more often through hearing of your book and having read The Paris Wife.

  11. Dianne says:

    She was a fascinating woman.

  12. Amber says:

    I really became interested in Zelda after seeing Midnight in Paris then I read Z: a novel of Zelda Fitzgerald and completely adored her!
    Missamberljohnson@gmail.com

  13. Sally says:

    F. Scott Fitzgerald is one of my favorite authors, I especially love Gatsby and Tender Is the Night. Zelda has always been a tragically romantic figure to me. She seemed so perfectly suited to a book, it seems almost strange to think she was a real person! Anyway I love fiction based on my favorite writers and historical figures and I would love to read Call Me Zelda. Thank you for the giveaway! 🙂

  14. Jane Cook says:

    What I know of Zelda is from ‘Hemingway’s Girl’, and from ‘A Moveable Feast’. I’d love to have ‘Call Me Zelda’

  15. Jpetroroy says:

    Gatsby is my favorite, I must admit.

  16. Holly Faur says:

    I know Zelda from knowing and reading her husband’s works such as The great Gatsby (of course) and This side of paradise. I did not realize she was an author herself until recently, but her book is on my summer list!

  17. I just finished reading Z and was so saddened by it. What an amazing woman and what a tragedy that world and history made of her. I’m dying to learn more about her.

  18. Nadia says:

    I know of Zelda via Hemingway’s works and have always been fascinated by her. Especially after watching Midnight in Paris – made me want to read even more about her. I had no idea she had written something and will definitely be seeking it out. I would love to win Call Me Zelda – I have heard nothing but fantastic things about your book and am excited to read it. Thanks for the giveaway!!

  19. Like all the above, I am also fascinated by Zelda – her sorrow, her talent, the mystery of whether she was mentally ill physiologically or suffered mentally from her turbulent relationship with Fitz. I have Nancy Mitford’s Zelda sitting on my bookshelf, and a copy of Save the Last Waltz tucked away somewhere!

  20. About a month ago, i was able to accomplish one of the most imperative events i wanted to accomplish from my so called, “bucket list”. After seeing the new film for The Great Gatsby 9 times in theaters, and dragging my parents to see it in a theater that was luckily still playing it on our vacation to South Carolina, that being the only thing i asked to do on vacation, on the way back my father was no where near hesitant to make a pit stop in Rockville, Maryland on the way back. If he didn’t what kind of father to me would he be?

    Arriving at 10pm at night, walking through a graveyard was not very favorable to my father, but he has always been supportive in my Fitzgerald escapades as my friends call them. This has been one of the latest, (aside from dragging my boyfriend to NYC to see Gatsby again, and to a Gatsby themed party) and greatest adventure regarding my love for the jazz age, but more importantly the two people i would do anything to just bring back for a day, Scott and my very very admired Zelda Fitzgerald. In fact, visiting the grave the next morning i pretty much had almost a photo shoot, with some photos even hugging the grave. The night before i dropped to my knees in tears, so this was a more enjoyable visit! ha! Leaving a 2 page letter, it came to my attention on the way home that Rockville just needs one gust of wind until a citizen would then know my deep love for Zelda and Scott. ha! The most important, and sentimental thing i left was a matching ring to one of mine that i left for Zelda, and i wear this ring everyday (except when i’m at work at the pizza place, understandable)

    Throughout the years, i’ve had many Fitzgerald escapades as we like to call them, such as also many sleepless nights just doing more and more extensive research on the two because you really can never be educated enough.

    But where did this all root from? It all began a few years ago when I took a family trip around the age of 15 to the Newport, Rhode Island. Those gilded age mansions shined and had some type of familiarity that just comforted me. The most appealing of them all, the Rosecliff mansion, Which happens to be Gatsby’s house the 1972 film of the great Gatsby. Later many years I found that all of the puzzles pieces fit together perfectly. I may have even mentioned to my father that the mansion is where I wanted to get married. That’s for sure not what the father of a 14 year old wants to hear!

    Anyway, through some research on the jazz as a younger teen I came across the name Zelda Fitzgerald and something about her always just stood out to me, but as a 14 year old i wasn’t the biggest into reading just yet.

    Who knew a couple years later when I was sitting 11th grade English taking pre notes on The Great Gatsby I began to yell and almost brought to tears over the last name Fitzgerald and the whole book being based on the era. Oh that was one of my fondest memories i shall never forget from high school. That’s where the seed that was planted so many years ago, was water and began to go into full bloom that has never ceased to die.

    Regardless of the unneeded details, let me say that my English teacher mentioned at the end of the year that he has never had a student quite as interested, and obsessed being the more relevant word, about a book and the authors life. Once again, I fell into a deep love that never ended, and it’s been two years since that.

    Quoting the novel everywhere I went, making references, just the fact I live on Long Island (and now that I drive and I’m 18 my friends just love the unexpected drive out to mansions/great neck/jazz age parties). The ridiculous and extensive research and knowledge I have done on Scott and Zelda Between my obsessive work and gym schedule could be deemed unhealthy. What 18 year old has 1920’s music blasting from there bedroom and dresses up on almost a daily basis when bored. Sometimes i scare myself too. My friends could probably write a novel about Zelda Fitzgerald themselves the amount of knowledge they possess on her now from me speaking.

    Many people, many many people have been inspired, and brought peace of mind by the writing of her husband, the wonderful F. Scott Fitzgerald, and just on the idea of there life. It’s almost like despite how turbulent it was, it’s almost appealing to us now. They are so dearly missed, and i think i would give anything just to go back in time and grow up in my teenage years with Zelda because i know we’d get along quite well. They have truly inspired myself, and many others. It just kills me to think Scott died believing he was a failure.

    Passion, inspiration, joy and so much more the beautiful Zelda has graced my life with and many other people as well. I just wish they knew how many people they have boughten the emotions and feelings to as they have brought me. Obviously being a huge fan, i thoroughly enjoy reading fiction, and non fiction of course on Zelda, as well as Scott. I would really, very very very much so appreciate your novel, i’m sure i’d enjoy it without a doubt. It would really mean so much.

    I believe I was able to convey myself pretty well for a topic I always say “I couldn’t convey my love for this couple in words”.

    Lucky enough ever since the 2013 film of Gatsby has came out, my love, (obsession) for Zelda, Scott, and the 1920’s has become seemingly more acceptable and not as outlandish as all my peers, family and teachers (aside from my english teachers of course).

  21. I just re-read what we had to enter, and i guess after my essay it would not matter if i mentioned that F.Scott Fitzgerald is obviously my favorite author, This Side of Paradise, and The Great Gatsby being my favorite works by him. Did anyone else notice the photo of Zelda Fitzgerald in Tom and Myrtle’s apartment in the 2013 Gatsby film?

  22. Jaime says:

    Learned of Zelda from you and your work. Absolutely loved ‘Hemingway’s Girl’ and tell everyone looking for their next book to check it out.

  23. girlfromwva says:

    i learned of Zelda and wanted to know more after seeing Midnight in Paris.

  24. Nancy LoNalbo says:

    My fav Zelda inspired Fitzgerald work is The Beautiful & The Damned. Also read Save Me The Waltz many years ago. Always felt that Zelda got a ‘bad rap’ and ahe might have been a talent in her own right except she was overshadowed by Scott . His portrayals of her in fiction are the only real record of how we see her now. That, alone, is somewhat unfair to her

  25. erikarobuck says:

    WINNERS! WINNERS! LisaMarie and Nancy LoNalbo! Congratulations!!

    • Nancy LoBalbo says:

      It’s LoBalbo…nothing like mispelling your OWN name. Some writer I’d make. Thanks a Erika! N. LoBalbo

  26. I only know about Zelda from F. Scott Fitzgerald’s work. I would love to know more about her.

  27. Terry M says:

    I learned about Zelda in high school when we were reading The Great Gatsby. I have reread it a few times since then and have loved it every time. I have also read and loved your other books and would love to see your take on Zelda.

Leave a Reply

