Cover Reveal: THE HOUSE OF HAWTHORNE, and a Giveaway!

I have removed the “Gone Fishing” sign from the blog window, and I’m back with many exciting giveaways, book reviews, musings on process, and other writerly posts.

To kick off my return from summer vacation, I am going to reveal the cover of my forthcoming novel THE HOUSE OF HAWTHORNE, due out May 2015 (NAL/Penguin Random House.) I am especially excited about this book for a variety of reasons:

1) THE HOUSE OF HAWTHORNE will be my first hardcover release. Though such things are always subject to change, I am optimistic, and looking forward to this new format.

2) Unlike HEMINGWAY’S GIRL, CALL ME ZELDA, and FALLEN BEAUTY, this novel marks my first about a writer from the past NOT told from the point of view of a fictional protagonist. While I was doing research, Sophia Peabody Hawthorne made it clear that she would like to tell the story of her creative and romantic life before, during, and after her marriage to Nathaniel Hawthorne. She is my narrator.

3) I love this new time period. My previous novels have been set between the world wars, but this takes place nearly a century earlier. I am fascinated by the simplicity of life at that time, the lack of conveniences, the prevalence of death, and the relationship of my subjects to the natural and spiritual world.

4) No cover reveal would be complete without a giveaway of an Advance Reader Copy (ARC) of the book. Though I do not have any in my possession at this time, my editor says copies will be hot off the presses any moment now, so I will have the book sent to the winner the moment it is available. (US and Canada residents only, please.)

To win, comment below by Thursday, Sept. 11th, 9 PM ET, on what you think about this cover, which is very different from my previous covers. Also, please share this post on social media, and be sure to “like” and follow my Author Page on Facebook to stay abreast of book related news, new historical fiction releases, giveaways, and appearances.

Without further ado…

House Of Hawthorne_FC_1

136 thoughts on “Cover Reveal: THE HOUSE OF HAWTHORNE, and a Giveaway!

  1. I am in the UK, so cant Enter the competition, but I love the cover. 🙂

  2. Another beautiful cover, Erika!!!!! I love the trees so much, and the lane into the woods. It looks just like New England, so they nailed it. And hardcover? Woot! Can’t wait to read it!

  3. Patricia Swanson says:

    Sophia Hawthore intrigues me. When I visited the Emerson Manse in Concord, MA, and saw her etching on the window, which was done with the diamond in her ring, I wondered what made her do that. The fact that the very same glass survived all these years is amazing. I cannot wait to find out if she had any associations with Ralph Waldo Emerson. My husbands family claims to be related, but we cannot prove it.

  4. tashaseegmiller says:

    Ok, seriously? I got chills, I tell you, chills when I saw this cover. I cannot wait for this book. Ginormous congratulations.

  5. Leslie p Burrell says:

    The cover is awesome. I am so ready to read this book.

  6. Beth Mills says:

    What is she thinking as she watches him walk away? I want to read this!

  7. I love it! Clearly she’s in a contemplative mood, thinking about the man as he walks away. I can’t wait to read it!

  8. Love this!!! So proud of you, Roomie! XO

  9. Emily Tucker says:

    Erika I have had the pleasure of seeing you read and discuss your books twice at Malaprops in Asheville. The first for Zelda and the second for Fallen Beauty. I have all your novels, which you graciously signed and I read with the voracity of a hungry animal. I love how the women you created told this beautiful story about a life we didn’t know these historical figures might have had and I cannot wait to see what you have done with a heroine who was truly there and lived and breathed the story you are telling. Hope you will come back to Asheville.

    • erikarobuck says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words, Emily. I hope to return to Asheville, too. I love writing about these women who are the “footnotes” to history, when they are so intricately involved.

  10. darcie says:

    Erika this cover looks awesome. I really like how both people are facing away from the camera. Not being able to see their faces leaves the readers to guess who they are what’s gonna happen… As always, I look forward to the new release!!

  11. Chrissy Nemeyer says:

    I love the cover. It is mysterious and the characters look like they are hiding things… Can’t wait to read!

  12. Bobbi B Designs says:

    Beautiful cover!! I’ve never read anything on Hawthorne and can’t wait for this book!

  13. Erika! I think this cover is fantastic. Based on what you said about the narrator, I think it’s perfect. I cannot wait to read the book.

  14. Rhonda says:

    Love the cover.it has a haunting feel to it.cant wait to read about The hawthornes.

  15. Kim says:

    Where is he going? Is she sad, lonely? Can’t wait to read to find out. Beautiful cover!

  16. taristhread says:

    Beautiful cover, and I love what you said about Sophia insisting on being the narrator, that tells me why I love your books. I’ll be waiting impatiently for this book to be released! Sharing with all of my friends…I tell them to read your others as well.

  17. I think it’s a beautiful cover. It speaks of romance and simplicity, just as you mentioned above. Calm and peaceful, it calls me to join the couple there, to eavesdrop, in the snap of twigs, and the whisper of leaves. Like your other books, I can’t wait to read ‘The House of Hawthorne’ either.

  18. Cindi says:

    Love the cover! I am so excited to read your latest book. I adore the Peabody Sisters–such amazing women.

  19. loreth says:

    The cover speaks to me. The sepia tone of a time past, a window into that time. The back of the woman shows that this story will be told from her eyes. And the romance is present right there. Just love it. Pulls me right in. Can’t wait to read!

  20. Caralee says:

    Love the cover! I’m excited to read more about Hawthorne. I noticed the Scarlet Letter twist ending you put in Fallen Beauty and wondered if he might be the topic of your next book. So excited to read it!

  21. Yay! It looks complex yet simple at the same time. How’d they do that? 🙂 Congratulations on yet another wonderful publication and a hardcover no less! I’m so proud of you!

    Thank you for being such an inspiration to me and many others.

    xox,
    Hal

  22. Suzy says:

    It’s beautiful. Whoever designs your book covers has a great eye.

  23. plandy1980 says:

    I love the mysteriousness of the cover, how there’s so much emotion conveyed, yet not a single facial feature shown! Can’t wait to get my paws on a copy, congratulations!!!

  24. Cindy Stephens says:

    I’m loving that book cover!! So excited to know it’s coming out in hardback and can’t wait to read it!!!!!!

  25. Holly Faur says:

    Hardcover! That is amazing news, congrats. The cover is lovely, and all those fall colors have me suddenly wanting a hot apple cider…

  26. Mariana Cotromanes says:

    It’s beautiful! All your covers are great, and can catch a readers eye, but there’s something about this one. It might look more… Romantic? Very exciting! Congrats!

    • erikarobuck says:

      Ah, Mariana, yes. Thank you. I actually wanted to subtitle it : A Romance (I was vetoed because they didn’t want to confuse traditional romance readers) based on this Hawthorne quote:

      “WHEN A WRITER calls his work a romance, it need hardly be observed that he wishes to claim a certain latitude, both as to its fashion and material, which he would not have felt himself entitled to assume, had he professed to be writing a novel. The latter form of composition is presumed to aim at a very minute fidelity, not merely to the possible, but to the probable and ordinary course of man’s experience. The former–while, as a work of art, it must rigidly subject itself to laws, and while it sins unpardonably so far as it may swerve aside from the truth of the human heart–has fairly a right to present that truth under circumstances, to a great extent, of the writer’s own choosing or creation….The point of view in which this tale comes under the romantic definition lies in the attempt to connect a by-gone time with the very present that is flitting away from us.” Preface to THE HOUSE OF THE SEVEN GABLES

  27. CP Patrick says:

    Congratulations!! I love the cover. And hardcover?! How exciting! l will never forget your kind words and honest advice. You are a wonderful writer and class act. I wish you continued success!!

  28. Chantale Lamitte says:

    Love the cover! So many different emotions could be at play without seeing the characters’ expressions, can’t wait to read it and find out which ones they are!

  29. Sharon Wilhite says:

    Oh, I love, love, love it! Immediately feel a sense of longing and love, and of letting go. Cannot wait!

  30. Absolutely beautiful cover. Looks like an awesome period piece. I can’t wait to read and review it myself. 🙂

  31. Andrea Obranovich says:

    I am so looking forward to this book…the cover reveal makes me feel even more so! I’m intrigued by the position of the people on the cover and what this might be foreshadowing about the story. I know very little about Hawthorne and am excited to learn more!

  32. Alicia says:

    The blurred edges make for an old-school feel and of course, I love the fall foliage– I do live in upstate New York after all!

  33. Hailey Fish says:

    I love this cover! My main thought is that I feel like the lady is watching the man walk away and yearning for him not to leave. I love stories that have history in them. I can read about what it was like back in the old times.

    • erikarobuck says:

      Thank you, Hailey! I will tell you that the novel begins with an aged Nathaniel leaving his old wife for a journey, so that yearning is very much there from the start of the book. She also thinks of him always–even as he is white-haired and stooped–as her “young summer husband.” 🙂

  34. Elizabeth Cox says:

    I like the simplicity of it, but at the same time it conveys the complexity of human emotions, it is beautifully rendered.

  35. quirkyladybookworm says:

    Beautiful cover! ❤
    –Clarissa

  36. Terry Martini says:

    Wow, this cover is amazing. I love how you can’t see the face of the women. It really make you wonder what she is thinking. Can’t wait to read this!

  37. Erika,
    Congrats on the new novel! The cover looks spectacular! Congratulations also on the possibility of hardcover!

  38. Ohhhh! I LOVE the cover. I’m so happy to see you back, Erika, and what great news about a hardcover release! Story sounds fascinating and can’t wait to read … always fun to hear what you’re writing about next.

  39. Cindy says:

    I am so excited about your new book. Being that I live right down the street from The House of Seven Gables, I am beyond intrigued to know more about this story; I want this ARC! (pretty please 🙂

  40. I can’t wait to read this, very interested in the point of view! Hawthorne has always fascinated me. Congrats on your first hardcover release and thank you for chance to win an ARC! The cover is mysterious, is she wondering who he really is, what she’s gotten herself into or that she’s being left behind…?

  41. Absolutely stunning cover! Even if weren’t written by one of my favorite authors, it would grab my attention at the bookstore. As a huge Hawthorne fan and a huge fan of yours, Erika, I can’t wait!

  42. Woo hoo! This is a GORGEOUS cover – there’s something very moody about it, don’t you think? Congrats to you!

  43. rferrier says:

    I love this cover design. It’s so haunting! I’m so glad you’re doing another literary-themed historical fiction novel. Can’t wait!

  44. Jim Kane says:

    My first thought in looking at the cover was The Scarlet Letter and the various tensions in the book. (Once an English major always an English major, I suppose) Looking forward to it Erica!

    • erikarobuck says:

      I love English major inspired impressions, Jim! I think you will be far more comfortable with these characters than that lascivious Millay. 🙂

      • Jim Kane says:

        I am looking forward to it! But I will also say that Fallen Beauty has grown on me as well and I have appreciated it more and more since I first read it.

  45. drbethnolan says:

    Oh my gosh I am SO excited! Love Sophia (and her sisters). And love their love affair. And it’s in my backyard. Yeah!!! Can. Not. Wait. Beth

  46. Mary says:

    I love the cover – wondering what she’s thinking as he walks away. Can’t wait to read it!

  47. Valerie says:

    When/where will the book be available for pre order? 🙂

  48. JJT says:

    Great Cover. It really draws you in. I want to follow him along that path to see where it goes.

  49. Carey says:

    It is a dreamy fall cover 😉

  50. Jen Bracey says:

    Woo hoo! Yeah for your first hardcover!

  51. Terri Buccarelli says:

    I love the cover! Mrs. Hawthorne looking after her husband’s legacy! I’d so like to have an advance copy! 🙂

  52. I think it is intriguing and pretty. I like how it shows the era through the clothing. I’m excited!

  53. Kiersten says:

    I was thinking that the perspective looking at their backs might be new, but then recalled that Mariella’s back is shown in Hemingway’s Girl. I love the perspective of her looking after her husband, who went before. I can’t wait to read this one. I am a huge fan, and love that the cover says “Bestselling Author of Hemingway’s Girl”

  54. Emily Gatlin says:

    SQUEE!!!! I didn’t think it could get much more gorgeous than Fallen Beauty, but I was wrong! Can’t wait to read it and fall in love with another dead author.

  55. Ruth Camisa says:

    As I know nothing about Sophia Hawthorne, the cover has me greatly intrigued as to what she is thinking as Nathanial moves away from her, and I want to learn more about their relationship and her circumstances.

  56. girlluck13 says:

    I love Hawthorne and I’m really excited to read it. I love the vintage feel of the cover.

  57. The cover is quite intriguing and makes me wonder what happened just moments before he walks away.

  58. Christine Adler says:

    I love the cover and would love to read the story! 😀

  59. Leigh Erin Bacon says:

    Fall is my favorite season so I love the cover. Also walking in the fall weather. I have read three of your books and I am so excited to read another. You are an author after my own heart. (I have always loved Ernest Hemmingway and also the time eras you write about.) Reading your other books has given me an new interest in the Fitzgeralds and also Edna St. James. Thanks!

  60. This cover is so beautiful–I love the watercolor effects, and the shadowy wistfulness of its characters. Your choice for the characters to be facing away from the readers reminds me of Jack Vettriano’s paintings. Looking forward to reading your newest novel!

  61. Connie Saunders says:

    This is a beautiful cover and it tells a story on its own. Thank for a chance to win this ARC.

  62. candc320 says:

    Oh it’s beautiful!!! I want to see their faces so badly! I keep waiting for her to turn around and look out of the cover for some reason. So excited to read it!!!

  63. Chris says:

    Beautiful. Looks like an interesting story!

  64. erikarobuck says:

    *.*.* WINNER *.*.* Using Random.org, the winner of THE HOUSE OF HAWTHORNE galley giveaway is Caralee!! Thank you all so much for your comments and shares, and I wish I had books to give all of you. Cheers!

  65. Theresa Johnson says:

    Very intriguing, I love the color and the look, excited for it to out in print!

  66. Andrea spranzo says:

    I love this cover,your best one so far,I think 🙂 I own all your books and I’m a big fan…this cover could be a picture…it brings you back,and I love the trees also …great job! Can’t wait to read this book !

  67. Laura Rash says:

    I love this cover. I’m wondering what the look is on the woman’s face. Mysterious:)

  68. Fell in love immediately with the cover, can’t wait to read this one! Sometimes you just know its going to be a great surprise! Thanks for the chance to win this giveaway!

  69. And I forgot to say I am intrigued by this paperback cover…!!!

Leave a Reply

