GRAND CENTRAL News, Audio Release, and a Giveaway

 

grand central cover

“Emotionally moving, evocative in their descriptions, each piece sticks with the reader, giving a pulse on the postwar world.” —*Starred Review, Library Journal

One of my favorite projects of the last year has been collaborating with nine other bestselling and award-winning historical fiction authors on a short story anthology, GRAND CENTRAL: ORIGINAL STORIES OF POSTWAR LOVE AND REUNION. Our tales of love and heartbreak take place one month after World War II ends at New York City’s iconic Grand Central Terminal, and the release of the book brought us together at the site for a snazzy launch party in period costume.


983721_331933400288640_1033399636023724947_n

These stories are ideal for those who love historical fiction and who have busy lives, and will also give you a taste of the work of authors you might not have read. Book clubs will have much to discuss on the many difficult topics addressed in the stories (from domestic violence, to post-traumatic stress, etc.), and will enjoy finding the connecting threads between the characters.

Audiobook listeners will be delighted to hear that GRAND CENTRAL has just been released in the format. Here is the gorgeous cover for audio:

jpeg

I am giving away three paperback copies of GRAND CENTRAL to those who leave comments below and share the post on social media by 9 PM ET on Thursday, September 18th. (US only, please.) Tell me if you are excited to read any of these fabulous authors, or what you love about Grand Central Terminal to win.

Good Luck!

41 thoughts on “GRAND CENTRAL News, Audio Release, and a Giveaway

  1. Rhonda says:

    I grew up in New York there’s an excitement to Grand Central the true hustle bustle of New Yorkers.authors in this book Sarah McCoy Erika Robuck are some of my favorite authors,will share on Facebook.

  2. Rebecca B says:

    I would love to win a copy and am going to share this post on facebook. I am excited to read this book because my grandpa fought in WWII and I enjoy historical fiction that is created around it. Since it takes place around Grand Central Station I’m sure it will be hard for me to put down. I will also enjoy reading stories from authors that I haven’t read from before.

  3. JJT says:

    It’s amazing how Grand Central has become so revitalized since the last renovation. It’s hard to remember that it was dark and dreary not that long ago. Will tweet – @readsalways

  4. sharon says:

    I would love to read this captivating and meaningful book since it resonates with me. Reading fiction and non-fiction from that era is unforgettable, important and profound. Being Jewish and knowing the history makes it unforgettable and special. I shared on facebook. Many thanks and best wishes for happiness and success.

  5. JUDITH BARNES says:

    The Grand Central concept is one of the most creative books I’ve read in a long time. The writing is brilliant and kudos to the superb editing. The stories flow together in seamless majesty. Best of all I got to spend reading time with some of my favorite authors.

  6. Kate I. says:

    I have read work by Melanie Benjamin and Sarah Jio so would love to read the stories they wrote for this anthology. I’m also interested to check out those written by authors with whom I am not yet familiar. Both of my grandfathers fought in WWII, so I do feel a connection to that era. Grand Central Terminal has been made iconic to me via film and literature (including grade school fare such as A CRICKET IN TIMES SQUARE). I was excited to visit GCT in 1997 during my first trip from the west coast to NYC. I’m grateful to everyone whose efforts resulted in the preservation of this national landmark. (I will tweet about this post.)

  7. Terry Martini says:

    Grand Central has been on my wishlist for awhile now and I look forward to reading it. I have read books by most of the contributors and have enjoyed them very much, I look forward to also reading those stories from authors I have not yet read. I am always on the lookout for new to me authors in historical fiction. I have tweeted and shared on Facebook.

  8. poofbooks says:

    It was a beautiful collection all capturing this special location. For me I love Grand Central when it is busy as it pulses with life. But I especially love it when quiet as I close my eyes and open my mind to the stories oozing from every nook and cranny. This collection of stories transported me to this special place.

  9. lomaurice says:

    This gorgeous book is on my TBR list. I love everything you read, Erika. And what a cast of wonderful writers you are with here.

  10. I would love to win a copy of GRAND CENTRAL as it is my kind of book. I truly love war stories and have never read one ,let alone several, that have taken place in the USA. I am not familiar with most of the authors but think the stories would be a good place to start!

  11. darcie says:

    I have been wanting to get a copy of this and just haven’t gotten to it yet. There are so many books on my TBR list. I love pretty much every author that has written a piece of this book! As for Grand Central, I’ve seen many pictures and it was in an episode of my favorite show but I have never been able to go myself. I want to though!

  12. I love this collection! Erika, you’re the only writer I’m familiar with–but this just means that I have the opportunity to read the works of so many others. I’m totally all about that, and would love to win a copy!

  13. egretoaks says:

    I loved the entire book and how elements in one story appeared in another, tying all the stories together as intended! Such a clever idea! I’d love to hear the audio version!

  14. That is such an adorable picture of the three of you! Pick me! Pick me! I’ve wanted to read these stories since I saw the book was coming out. I agree with your assessment — a wonderful way to read multiple authors to get an idea for their styles. Some of you I already know and adore!

  15. Did I forget to enter?! Egads!

  16. Domenica McGrath says:

    Looking forward to reading this!

  17. susieqlaw says:

    I am excited to read all of the authors’ stories! I love that Grand Central Station has so many interesting people, stories, hustle, and vibrancy.

  18. Jen Bracey says:

    Definitely want to read!

  19. Erika, I have liked and shared. I am still hoping to get a copy soon! Is that a new cover? Just saw Karen last night at Fox Tale.

  20. Ruth says:

    I loved “Hemmingway’s Girl” which is a book that has always stuck with me. And I also loved Sarah McCoy’s “The Baker’s Daughter” and LOVE Pam Jenoff, Jenna Blum and the rest of the gals. Totally looking forward to reading all the stories.

  21. erikarobuck says:

    WINNERS!! According to Random.org, Rhonda, Kate, and Domenica are the winners. Congratulations, and thank you for participating!!

Leave a Reply

