The Magician’s Lie, Recommendation and Giveaway

magician's lie

“This is the life of the most famed female illusionist in the world, very nearly the only one in existence, the life I have made for myself through luck and talent and sheer will. This is the life I have decided to leave behind. This is the life I will end. Tonight, I will escape my torturer, once and for all time. Tonight, I will kill him.” ~Greer Macallister, The Magician’s Lie

Publisher Synopsis:

Water for Elephants meets The Night Circus in The Magician’s Lie, a debut novel in which the country’s most notorious female illusionist stands accused of her husband’s murder — and she has only one night to convince a small-town policeman of her innocence.

The Amazing Arden is the most famous female illusionist of her day, renowned for her notorious trick of sawing a man in half on stage. One night in Waterloo, Iowa, with young policeman Virgil Holt watching from the audience, she swaps her trademark saw for a fire ax. Is it a new version of the illusion, or an all-too-real murder? When Arden’s husband is found lifeless beneath the stage later that night, the answer seems clear.

But when Virgil happens upon the fleeing magician and takes her into custody, she has a very different story to tell. Even handcuffed and alone, Arden is far from powerless-and what she reveals is as unbelievable as it is spellbinding. Over the course of one eerie night, Virgil must decide whether to turn Arden in or set her free… and it will take all he has to see through the smoke and mirrors.

My Recommendation:

I was lucky enough to receive an early copy of this novel for potential endorsement. I only offer a blurb if a novel absolutely captivates me, I can’t put it down, and I cannot stop talking about it. The Magician’s Lie is one of those novels. My blurb:

“Greer Macallister handles the reader with the command and brilliance of a world class ringmaster. THE MAGICIAN’S LIE is a mesmerizing novel of illusion, secrets, and suspense. Bravo!”

But don’t just believe me. The Magician’s Lie has received honors such as the Indie Next Pick, a PW Starred Review, the January Midwest Connections Pick, a People Magazine recommendation, an Oprah.com pick, and the January 2015 Library Reads List!

Sourcebooks was kind enough to provide a copy of The Magician’s Lie for a giveaway, which I will mail to a blog reader who comments below, and shares this post on social media. Please let me know your favorite work of historical suspense, or why you are interested in The Magician’s Lie, and comment by 9 PM ET on Friday, January 16th. (US residents only, please.)

For more on the author and her upcoming book tour, click here, and good luck!

25 thoughts on “The Magician’s Lie, Recommendation and Giveaway

  1. Laurice says:

    I’m not sure how to classify them but they are definitely historical and I am absolutely in suspense with my favorite books of all time, The Outlander Series by Diana Gabaldon.

  2. Julie says:

    I can’t wait to get to this one! I love your blurb!

  3. Cathe Olson says:

    That’s funny — I never actually thought of “historical suspense” as a genre before so I had to really think about it. Two books that I loved that I think qualify are The Thirteenth Tale and The Forgotten Garden. I’m looking forward to reading The Magician’s Lie.

  4. Kimberly V says:

    An historical suspense that I recently read and loved is The Paris Architect by Charles Belfoure. I highly recommend it. I shared on Facebook and Twitter.

  5. Bonnie K. says:

    Not sure if this qualifies, but I liked The Last Camellia by Sarah Jio.

  6. Terry Martini says:

    I loved Chateau of Secrets by Melanie Dobson and The Secret Life of Violet Grant by Beatriz Williams. I shared on Twitter and Facebook. I have added this one to my TBR list.

  7. Chris Koller says:

    I enjoy historical fiction, and especially liked “Water for Elephants”, so the comment on your cover would sell me. Also, your cover is an eye catcher, and would cause me to pick your book up for a closer look.

  8. Suzy says:

    I have heard so much buzz about The Magician’s Lie and everyone I know who has read an advance copy has loved it. I want a copy, too. : )

  9. Julie says:

    Do the Outlander books by Diama Gabaldon count? I adore those! I also very much like Child 44 and its sequels by Tom Robb Smith. It is set during the Cold War in Russia.

  10. natalieahart says:

    I’m interested in the book because I don’t think I’ve ever read historical suspense, but I love historical fiction, and I’m crazy about the idea of a female illusionist — all those layers of hiding, distraction, of the hours spent perfecting her skills that by definition have to be hidden. Count me in!

  11. Kelly McCord says:

    I love anything by Kate Morton and The Thirteenth Tale. I also think I would love this because Water for Elephants and Night Circus are two of my favorites.

  12. Sarah F says:

    I don’t know if I’ve read anything specifically categorized as historical suspense, but I love suspenseful historical mysteries like The White Garden by Stephanie Barron and older suspense fiction by Mary Stewart.

  13. I so want to read this one. It looks fascinating. Thank you for the opportunity.

  14. Melissa Buck says:

    This looks really good, would love to read it!

  15. Andrea says:

    I’ve seen this book on a couple of “must read” lists, including one for great reads for a snowy weekend. Living in Minneapolis, that’s right up my alley!

  16. erikarobuck says:

    Thank you all so much for your comments and shares! Random.org has selected Kimberly V as our winner! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

