Giveaway for Downton Abbey Fans

imgres

“Even in death, the Duke was reluctant to leave these rooms: his last wish was that his body should remain there until the day of his funeral…The Duke had specifically asked that all but his family and his closest friends should be barred from his last resting place…On 27 April, three days after he was buried, someone broke into them.” Catherine Bailey, The Secret Rooms

British historian Catherine Bailey was given unprecedented access to the archives of Belvoir Castle. As she chronicled her findings, she was surprised to find that the 9th Duke of Rutland had removed artifacts and materials from three periods of his life. Her findings led her to uncover family secrets that he desperately wished to hide, even up to the moment of his death.

21863255

“The family’s downfall was unthinkable. William, Earl Fitzwilliam, had left a great fortune. Four sons–each named William after him–survived him. The coal industry was booming: the family’s wealth and power seemed as solid and unshakeable as the foundations of their vast house….Yet the Fitzwilliams and the thousands who worked for them were about to become the central figures in an approaching catastrophe…What was unthinkable on that day in February 1902 happened.” Catherine Bailey, Black Diamonds

In a house so large that guests were given tins of colored confetti to find their way back to their rooms, secrets lurked, placing its legacy on unstable ground. Historian Catherine Bailey sets a course to find out the truth behind the heirs of Wentworth House, the scandals that rocked the family, and the decline of one of the grandest families in England.

***

If you are as obsessed with Downton Abbey as I am, you are in for a treat with these two works of narrative history. The texts read like novels, and are full of fascinating facts, maps, family trees, and photographs. Indulge in the books while the popular program airs in the US, or wait to savor them to fill the void at Downton Abbey’s conclusion.

To win both books, simply comment below about your favorite Downton Abbey storyline, or related period piece. Enter by 9 PM ET on Monday, February 2nd, and share on social media. (US residents only, please.) Good luck!

32 thoughts on “Giveaway for Downton Abbey Fans

  1. Michael says:

    My favorite one is going on right now with Daisy trying to balance bettering herself and doing her job at Downton.

  2. Jennifer McFarland says:

    My favorite story was the story of Mary and Matthew. The two of them getting to know one another, the courtship, the falling in love, the ending that breaks my heart every time.

  3. I’m hooked on Lady Mary and the two men after her lately–Lord Gillingham and Charles Blake to decide between? Gosh, what a terrible problem to have!

  4. I really liked the storyline between Bates and Anna and how their relationship has changed throughout the seasons, although Bates is a bit of a grump now!

    Tweeted: https://twitter.com/abookishaffair/status/560817170222166017

  5. Rhonda says:

    I love the Bates&anna story line with all the complications stayed true,

  6. Chris Koller says:

    Bates and Anna

  7. Lauri says:

    Right now, I am so happy that Daisy is excited about learning. She has become a much more interesting character this season.

  8. Letty Blanchard says:

    I was so happy when Matthew and Mary got together and married. It broke my heart when he died. I also like the storyline between Anna and Bates. Anna is just the sweetest!!

  9. Patricia Swanson says:

    I, like you, love DA. I like Edith’s story best. I lived in Suffolk, England, for three years in the mid 70’s. During the time there, we visited many historic places. Upon returning for a visit about five years ago, we visited even more, plus Stonehenge. I am fascinated that a system of rags and riches has continued to this day.

  10. Sandi A. says:

    I love this story.

  11. Diane Turner says:

    The Bates and Anna storyline, with all its twists and complications. Great series.

  12. Barbara Honea says:

    I love the story of Mr. Bates and Anna. I hope that their love survives all the hardship they have faced.

  13. I love so many storylines on Downton Abbey it’s hard to pick one! Right now I am very much attached to Edith’s sad attempts to spend as much time with her secret daughter as she can…it breaks my heart but I keep hoping somehow she will get her back!

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  14. Tammy Sorrell says:

    I love the complete package of story lines, but I’m particularly fond of Lady Edith’s current arc — can’t wait to see what’s next for her. Thank you for the giveaway!

  15. Christina says:

    Thanks for the great giveaway! My favorite Downton storyline was definitely Matthew and Mary. I am also pretty intrigued by Lady Edith’s current storyline. I just want one good thing to happen for her! She’s had some bad luck and I’m hoping the writers will throw some good luck her way.

  16. Missy Hatfield says:

    My favorite thing about Downton Abbey is that it is a show my husband also likes. We have enjoyed spending our Sunday evenings together watching the drama unfold. We love it all, but watching Anna and Mr. Bates’ story unfold has been some of the best (and occasionally worst) parts.

  17. joyous2 says:

    Love Downton! I especially loved the special they aired with the on set historian who makes sure they are accurately portraying customs of the period. Fascinating!

  18. Laurice says:

    Bates and Anna

  19. Bonnie K. says:

    It’s hard to choose my favorite storyline in Downton Abbey. I’ve watched all four seasons and a few episodes of Season 5. I was happy that Mary and Matthew finally got married but was bummed that he died in a car accident. I’m pleased to watch Daisy grow and mature and her trying to better herself. I like seeing the subtle attraction between Carson and Mrs. Hughes and their respect for each other. I shared on twitter: https://twitter.com/grobiemum/status/560930497455329280

  20. The costumes are my favorite storyline with Violet Dowager Countess of Grantham scenes a close second.

  21. griperang says:

    I love all the episodes of Down Abbey but my favorite person that I have watched is Daisy her and Ms. Patemore are my tow favorites.

  22. Jill Whittaker says:

    i am loving the developing friendship between Violet and Isabelle:)

  23. Nhi Goodman says:

    I of course love Bates & Anna’s unwavering love story. I also have a soft spot for Daisy.

  24. Elizabeth says:

    I just binge watched Downton and I’m craving more! I was just wondering how to find books with a similar storyline. I loved Brideshead Revisited by Waugh-and the old Masterpiece TV program with Jeremy Irons.

    Any historical fiction with the upstairs-downstairs tales that you would recommend?

    Thanks for the chance to win these mysteries!

  25. seaside713 says:

    my favorite story line is the Anna and Mr. Bates turmoil regarding Mr. Green.

  26. Kimberly V says:

    My favorite storyline is the one between the Dowager Countess and Mrs. Crawley.

  27. jadedalien says:

    Mine is the storyline with Lady Edith. I’m dying to know what we’ll find out about Michael and the revelation to the rest of the Abbey about Marigold.

  28. Karen Robuck says:

    I thought the acting by Anna after the rape scene was great. She is a fine actress.

  29. Terry Martini says:

    My favorite storyline is the one with Lady Edith. I do hope she finds some happiness soon.

  30. erikarobuck says:

    Thanks so much for all of your entries and shares! Lauri is the winner.

    I’m sad there is only one season of Downton left, but it has been a great run.

Leave a Reply

