Les Miserables Giveaway

images

 

In the first Penguin Classics translation in 40 years, Victor Hugo’s powerful novel of the June Rebellion of 1832 receives a compelling new treatment from Christine Donougher, winner of the Scott Moncrieff Translation Prize.

The Times Literary Supplement praises the book as “a magnificent achievement. It reads easily, sometimes racily, and Hugo’s narrative power is never let down…[an] almost flawless translation, which brings the full flavour of one of the greatest novels of the nineteenth century to new readers in the twenty-first.”

The Herald Scotland says, “Christine Donougher’s seamless and very modern translation of Les Misérables has an astonishing effect in that it reminds readers that Hugo was going further than any Dickensian lament about social conditions … [Les Mis] touches the soul.”

The cover of this Penguin Classics Graphic Deluxe Edition is a marvel in itself. It is illustrated by celebrated artist Jillian Tamaki, a Caldecott Award winner and contributor to the New York Times Book Review.

I have one copy of Les Misérables to give away. Simply comment below on whether you have read or seen Les Misérables, and share on social media by Thursday, March 5th at 9 PM ET. (US residents only, please.) Bonne chance!

30 thoughts on “Les Miserables Giveaway

  1. Melissa Buck says:

    I haven’t read or seen it but would love to!

  2. Carey says:

    I’ve been a little scared to read it, but I managed War and Peace so I don’t know why!

  3. Susan I says:

    I’m embarrassed to admit I’ve neither seen nor read it.

  4. Kathy LaMaster says:

    I have not, but I want to read the book first.

  5. Lauren says:

    I’ve seen the movie, but I have never gotten a chance to fully read the book.

  6. Debra says:

    I haven’t seen or read it but would like to.

  7. Laura Buczynski says:

    My most favorite story of all time! I’ve seen the live version and the movie so many times. It was one of the very first ‘grown up’ things my husband and I saw when we were dating 25 years ago. I’ve not yet read the book, but would LOVE to!

  8. I have not read it but it’s on my list… have seen the musical many times, I can only imagine how amazing the book is!

  9. Jaime A. Geraldi says:

    I haven’t seen the movie or read the book. I am so ready now!

  10. meadke33 says:

    Still on my TBR list 🙂 also have not seen the movie because I want to read it first

  11. Kim Braxton says:

    I have seen it many times at the theatre, it was once my aim to play eponine on the stage so I loaned the book from my local library & read all of her scenes. Now I’m an academic in Victorian Literature I want to read the completely & appreciate it for itself rather than the source of the musical.

  12. I’ve seen Les Miserables, and it’s a favorite of mine now. I’ve never read the book, but would absolutely love to!

  13. Candice says:

    I’ve never read or seen Les Misérables, but I think I’m long overdue! Sharing on Twitter 🙂

  14. maite says:

    only seen the film, would love to read!

  15. Bonnie K. says:

    I’ve seen Les Misérables and love he music.

  16. I’ve seen the movies, the musical, and I read the book in high school. It’s due for a re-reading! 😀

  17. I can’t resist trying for this new edition. Ashamed to admit this, but I’ve only read an abridged version of the novel. Would love to have this one. Merci pour le contest, Erika!

  18. Mary says:

    I’ve read the book and adored it!! I’ve also seen the 2012 film, but not the musical. (Book > film in my opinion…)

  19. Maureen Alfieri says:

    Would love to read Les Miserable especially after seeing the musical.

  20. Rhonda says:

    I haven’t read it but have seen the play&the film.

  21. JJT says:

    I have read the book and seen both the play and movie!

  22. Tabitha Chitwood says:

    I’ve read an abridged version of the novel (I hope it makes more sense unabridged, but it was still really good).

  23. Isai Garcia says:

    Awesome book. Cry all the time. Poor Eponine.

  24. Bill L. says:

    I’m on page 989, and my enthusiasm keeps growing.

  25. I have not read it OR seen the movie! (and I’m a librarian…. tsk tsk!) But it’s on my list for 2015!

  26. Nancy says:

    I first read it in junior high and last read it in 2013. It was my favorite Classics Illustrated comic book before that!

  27. erikarobuck says:

    We have a winner! Thanks so much to all who participated. 🙂

  28. Noor says:

    I’ve seen the movie but never read the book!
    I saw this post while googling to check whether Les miserables is considered a Victorian novel or not! I’m planning to do a presentation in the Victorian Literature class about it

Leave a Reply

