Photo Journal Review and Giveaway: HEMINGWAY’S PARIS

imgres

“Hemingway learned to believe that stories only become whole when the writer’s words…are allowed to collide with the reader’s own experiences and interpretation.” Robert Wheeler, HEMINGWAY’S PARIS

Publisher Synopsis:

Walk through the Streets of Paris with Ernest Hemingway.

In gorgeous black and white images, Hemingway’s Paris depicts a story of remarkable passion—for a city, a woman, and a time. No other city in any of his travels was as significant, professionally or emotionally, as was Paris. And it remains there, all of the complexity, beauty, and intrigue that Hemingway described in the pages of so much of his work.

It is all still there for the reader and traveler to experience—the history, the streets, and the city. Restaurants, hotels, homes, sites and favorite bars are all detailed here. The ninety-five black and white photographs in Hemingway’s Paris are of the highest caliber. The accompanying text reveals Wheeler’s deep understanding of the man; his torment, talent, obstacles and the places of refuge needed to nurture one of the preeminent writers of the twentieth century.

Moved by the humanistic writing of the man—a writer capable of transcending his readers to foreign settings and into the hearts and minds of his protagonists—Wheeler was inspired to travel throughout France, Italy, Spain, Africa, and Cuba, where he has sought to gain insight into the motivation behind Hemingway’s books and short stories. As a teacher, lecturer, and photojournalist, he set out to capture and interpret the Paris that Ernest Hemingway experienced in the first part of the century. Through his journal and photographs, Wheeler portrays the intimate connection Hemingway had with the woman he never stopped loving, Hadley, and with the city he loved most, Paris.

My Recommendation:

I met Robert Wheeler at New Hampshire’s River Run Bookstore where he attended a book talk for my novel, HEMINGWAY’S GIRL. He and his wife, Katherine, warmly welcomed me to the city, and we spent the evening discussing our mutual appreciation for the work of Ernest Hemingway. It was during dinner that Robert revealed a series of stunning black and white photographs he had taken in Paris from “Hemingway’s perspective.” As he passed the pictures to me and described–with great passion and exuberance–the meaning of the photos and their connections to Hemingway’s work, I was overcome by his unique exploration in understanding Hemingway.

It gives me tremendous joy these years later to hold HEMINGWAY’S PARIS, a photo journal of Wheeler’s images and reflections on the famous writer and his beloved city. As clean as the prose of Hemingway himself, the nearly one hundred photographs progress like the sketches of Hemingway’s A MOVEABLE FEAST. HEMINGWAY’S PARIS has inspired me to reread the classic, and has deepened my desire to visit Paris.

Whether you are a lover of Hemingway, Paris, photography, or art, you will find great inspiration on the pages of HEMINGWAY’S PARIS. It would make an excellent gift, display book, or artistic companion, and I will be sure to pack it on my first trip to Paris so I might walk the routes of Ernest Hemingway.

The publisher will provide one copy of HEMINGWAY’S PARIS for a giveaway. Please comment below with your favorite Hemingway story or Paris memory, and share on social media. US residents have until Monday, April 20th at 9 PM ET to win. Bonne chance!

37 thoughts on “Photo Journal Review and Giveaway: HEMINGWAY’S PARIS

  1. Anita says:

    I’ve not yet been to Paris, but it’s a bucket list must! I love thinking about Hemingway and Key West, while most people go there to party I went to see his home and think of his time there. Book Nerd 🙂

  2. Kathy LaMaster says:

    My favorite Hemingway stories come from his time in Paris, but really any Hemingway story is a good story. 🙂

  3. Susan I says:

    My favorite Hemingway story is Hemingway’s Girl, of course! And I hope to have a Paris story soon… (unless I borrow The Sun Also Rises)

  4. My favorite piece of Hemingway’s work is A Moveable Feast. As a writer, that book changed my life! Hemingway taught me to break the rules and just write whatever came to my finger tips and to do it unapologetically. I read the most recent version of A Moveable Feast and I felt such sorrow in reading about F. Scott Fitzgerald and the breakdown of Hemingway’s first marriage. Hemingway is my literary hero! When I was in Paris last July I had the honor of eating dinner at Les Deux Magots on Hemingway’s birthday! It wasn’t until we were eating our desert that my husband noticed there was a picture of Hemingway right behind my head! We just happened to be seated in the packed café right where Hem’s picture sat. I was so happy! We also got to go to Café de Fleur and Shakespeare & Co. It was incredible to walk in the same footsteps that my favorite writer also walked. Paris holds a special place in my heart, almost as if I left my heart in Paris. I will have to go back someday and retrieve it.

  5. lomaurice says:

    I have long been fascinated with Hemingway and Paris. I have visited Hemingway’s home in Key West many times. Each time I come away having learned yet another little something about him. And I love the cats. I have visited Hemingway’s bedroom when various famously named cats have been stretched out on his bed, napping:) Can not get enough of Paris or Hemingway.

  6. Bonnie K. says:

    I’ve read The Paris Wife by Paula McLain. Great book. It would be cool to see the black and white photos of Hemingway’s perspective of Paris. The last book I remember reading of his is The Old Man and the Sea.

  7. I’ve read everything “Hemingway” I can get my hands on. A Moveable Feast is no doubt my favorite because it tells of his life and what he experienced. It’s like getting to know him personally.

  8. M. Denise C. says:

    My first trip to Paris was in 1993 and I knew little about Hemingway. However, I did know he lived in Paris when he was young and I thought of him when I sat outside at Fouquet’s on the Champs. I even mentioned to the others that we were sitting where Hemingway probably sat. I will always be glad that Paris was my first Hemingway haunt even though I knew little about him at the time. Thanks for bringing Hemingway in Key West alive for me before I made it there. Cheers, Denise

  9. Caralee says:

    My favorite Hemingway is A Farewell to Arms. My favorite book about him is Paris Without End by Gioia Diliberto, an amazing biography about his time in Paris & marriage to Hadley.

  10. Rhonda says:

    My favorite memory of Paris strolling along the streets eating baguettes we’d buy along the way,

  11. JJT says:

    My honeymoon in Paris is my favorite memory of the city!

  12. ian callaway says:

    Last year I took my daughter to Paris for her first visit. She fell in love with the place. I bought her a copy of “A Moveable Feast” in Shakespeare & Co. We lunched at La Coupole and Brasserie Lipp. It is a few days that she says will stay with her for ever.

  13. tonyarice says:

    My favorite Hemingway piece is “The Pilot Fish and the Rich”. Hemingway’s pain of losing Hadley came through with such force it took my breath away. It may not be a story, but it’s expressed in such a way there’s a detachment for the reader and only Hadley was to capture it. I always felt it was his apology to her. Oh, how I still long to travel those Parisian streets one day and browse through Shakespeare and Co.

  14. When I was pregnant, my daughter’s father and I read books aloud to her. A MOVEABLE FEAST was the first one we read–we took turns reading chapters. She’s thirteen now–and her favorite t-shirt is THE OLD MAN AND THE SEA one she got at the Hemingway Museum in Oak Park, Illinois.

  15. Melissa Buck says:

    My favorite Hemingway book is A Farewell to Arms. Hemingway’s Girl was so wonderful that it made me want to read more of his work and now I’m completely hooked.

  16. Renee Payne says:

    Walking the streets of Montparnasse and visiting the Dome, the Rotonde and of course the Closerie des Lilas where
    Hemingway carved his name in the bar.
    Passing by the building on Notre-Dames des Champs, 113. My feet always take me to the area where I imagine all the writers and artists having a drink or two or more together.

  17. drbethnolan says:

    Been to Paris several times but my favorite was when we celebrated my husband being cancer-free. We ate at the Jules Verne restaurant at the Eiffel Tower — best meal and view ever. Such a special trip! 🙂

  18. I am so glad you mentioned this book – I just signed up to “Pick It Up” at Barnes and Noble; I can’t wait to get my hands on it! This is the precise time period and place that I am writing about, so I am thrilled any time I come across material such as this. I have also been to Paris, but we were on such a tight schedule that I did not get a chance to see the writers’ haunts in the city. What a cool background story – it sounds like you helped to inspire Robert Wheeler to write this; we are all grateful 🙂 Although I am partial to F. Scott Fitzgerald, I appreciate the writing of Hemingway – “A Moveable Feast” is one of my favorites (although I dislike the way he treated Fitzgerald; I’m giving him the evil eye why I am typing this). Anyhow, thanks again – and I’ll see you in a few weeks.

  19. erikarobuck says:

    Cindy, I’m so glad you have this book coming to you. Robert had all the passion and inspiration he needed on his own. You can have him sign your copy in Concord. He’s attending the reading. I’m looking forward to seeing you!

Leave a Reply

