My Favorite Historical Fiction of 2015

flat,550x550,075,f

Here is my (much agonized over) list of the best historical novels of 2015. Some of the books were not published in 2015, but that is when I read them. My criteria for making the list:

*I read it obsessively.

*I can’t stop thinking about it.

*I can’t stop recommending it.

I read so many outstanding books this year (and some were not historical), so if you’d like to see all my favorites, check out my reviews on Goodreads. Of note: I only review and recommend books I’d give 4 or 5 stars, so this is really a *best of the best* list. Torture, I tell you.

Here we go, and in no particular order:

  1. Vanessa and Her Sister, by Priya Parmar imgres
  2. Almost Famous Women, by Meg Mayhew Bergman images
  3. Vienna Nocturne, by Vivien Shotwell17978492
  4. West of Sunset, by Stewart O’Nanwest of sunset
  5. The Edge of Lost, by Kristina McMorris23453136
  6. The Accidental Empress, by Allison Pataki22609307
  7. Rodin’s Lover, by Heather Webb81Tv3eOnDsL
  8. The Nightingale, by Kristin Hannah81j3rfXRwmL
  9. Circling the Sun, by Paula McLain51AjU4AyNrL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_
  10. The Song of Hartgrove Hall, by Natasha Solomons61PR8HHYPZLWhat a wonderful year in books! Happy Reading, and Happy New Year!!

8 thoughts on “My Favorite Historical Fiction of 2015

  1. Terry Martini says:

    What a great list! I have definitely added the ones that I have not read yet to my TBR list.

  2. I adored Vanessa and Her Sister! Great list, Erika. Some here I still haven’t gotten around to yet – reading to look forward to!

  3. Marjorie Roberts says:

    Hemingway’s Girl was absolutely one of my favorites that I read this year. I gave a copy away for a birthday present and also for Christmas present. Thank you for going to Turn the Page, my favorite book store. The Nightingale was an absolute favorite – I’m constantly recommending it. I have The Edge of Lost to read soon, and want to read Vienna Nocturne and Vanessa and Her Sister. Thanks for the recommendations, Erika! And I hope to see you at TTP May 19th for the next Girls Night Out – I have my reservation at the Inn.

  4. Diane Turner says:

    Great list, Erika. Thank you.

  5. Melissa Crytzer Fry says:

    Great list, Erika. I’ve had Vanessa and her Sister waiting on my shelf patiently. Not enough hours, I say! Really want to read The Edge of Lost and The Nightingale! Happy 2016. Happy reading. And happy writing! Can’t wait to hear what you’re up to next.

Leave a Reply

