Pinterest for Writers

imgres-1

I am a visual person. To write something well, I have to visit as many places in my books as possible. I spend hours scouring archives–in person and online–to find photographs of my subjects, their settings, their muses. Before I write I “cast” my books with living actors. Even when I read, I underline, scribble notes, highlight, draw pictures. I have to be able to see what it is I’m trying to capture with words.

Even if you are a writer who does not need much visual stimulation, you might consider your reader. Pinterest can be a powerful tool for helping her to see your characters, your settings, and your time period. It can supplement a work in a powerful way that continues the conversation even after the last pages are turned. Whether viewed before reading or after, your pin boards can enrich the entire story experience.

Here is a screenshot of my Pinterest page:

Screen Shot 2016-02-12 at 8.11.48 AM

You’ll find images associated with each of my books, day trips to my book settings, tidbits for readers, casting for movies (HELLO GEORGE CLOONEY WITH A MUSTACHE AS HEMINGWAY!) Lower down the page are boards for my own interests–house projects, decor, etc. Make sure the boards you want to share with the public are featured first.

Starting a Pinterest page is simple, and once you have an account set up, the red Pinterest icon will appear on the upper right side of your browser menu:

Screen Shot 2016-02-12 at 8.16.50 AMTo add photos from pages you search to your boards, simple click the icon at any website you visit. It will arrange a screen of images that may be pinned. Screen Shot 2016-02-12 at 8.19.57 AM

Click on the image you want to pin, and a menu will pop up asking which Pinterest board you’d like to add it to, or you may create a new board. Add a description, hit enter, and voila!

Warning: Pinterest is addictive. You will find friends there. They will have great boards. Three hours will pass and you will find yourself scouring hundreds of images for brunch recipes, book recommendations, window treatment options, fantasy vacations, and cutest cat breeds–and you might not even like cats! Consider setting a timer to pull yourself out of the vortex of distraction.

Finally, consider sharing your boards. Post a couple times a month on your blogs and social media accounts with boards that have to do with your books. This will give you a chance to engage your readers and continue bringing your work to life.

Some excellent author Pinterest pages:

Tatiana de Rosnay

Karen White

Ariel Lawhon

Marianne O’Hara

Beth Hoffman

David Abrams

Who are your favorite authors on Pinterest? Are you on Pinterest? Do you have any helpful tips for making Pinterest meaningful to your readers? Happy Pinning!

8 thoughts on “Pinterest for Writers

  1. Sarah Emsley says:

    I find Pinterest really helpful for my writing projects, whether I’m working on fiction or non-fiction. When I collect images there, I often think of L.M. Montgomery, who regularly drew on material from her scrapbooks as well as her journals for inspiration when she was writing novels.

    I know what you mean–definitely addictive! You’ve put together lovely collections to complement your books. And those nature photos are stunning, especially the ancient oaks.

  2. M Denise C says:

    I love how you can have “secret” boards that no one else can see. That way, if you are working on something special and not ready to reveal, then you can save pins to your heart’s content. 🙂

  3. M Denise C says:

    You’re welcome. Happy Valentine’s weekend!

  4. Beth Hoffman says:

    Erika, you are always full of lovely surprises! Thank you for including my Pinterest boards in your post. Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

