Giveaway: Hamilton: The Musical CD, Receive Me Falling

IMG_8189

“Every slave story is a ghost story.” Receive Me Falling

In 2009 I self-published my first novel, RECEIVE ME FALLING, with the hopes of learning the publishing process, with traditional publishing as my ultimate goal. I was also interested in growing readership and starting a conversation with those readers about the relationship of the past and the present, and human connection across time, space, and race. It was a positive experience, I’m glad I did it, and I’m even gladder to now have four traditionally published novels.

RECEIVE ME FALLING is set on the Caribbean island of Nevis, the birthplace of Alexander Hamilton, and the setting where he grew to abhor slavery. The novel takes place in 1831 and in the present day, where two women–centuries apart–grapple with issues of identity and the inheritance of sin. Their connection is a plantation house called Eden, where the lives of those in residence are far from the paradise the name and setting suggest.

HAMILTON: THE MUSICAL is taking Broadway by storm. With its diverse cast, hip-hop music, and poignant themes, David Brooks of the New York Times says this:

“[I]t is one of the most exhilarating experiences I’ve had in a theater. Each element in the show is a jewel, and the whole is bold, rousing, sexy, tear-jerking and historically respectful — the sort of production that strips things down and asks you to think afresh about your country and your life.” 

Since tickets for this masterpiece are sold out into the next millennium, I have the next best thing: the CD.

You have until March 2nd to enter the Goodreads giveaway  for the HAMILTON: THE MUSICAL CD and my novel, RECEIVE ME FALLING. Please enter and share, and let me know below if you have seen the production. I’m dying to hear more about it. Good luck!

2 thoughts on “Giveaway: Hamilton: The Musical CD, Receive Me Falling

  1. elizacameron says:

    I saw the production at the public last February. It was a benefit for the Morris-Jumel mansion here in Manhattan where Aaron Burr lived briefly while married to Madame Jumel. I fell madly in love with the musical, I play the cast album almost ever day. It is truly special.

Leave a Reply

