Giveaway: AMERICA’S FIRST DAUGHTER

AFD_Cover

Publisher Synopsis:

In a compelling, richly researched novel that draws from thousands of letters and original sources, bestselling authors Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie tell the fascinating, untold story of Thomas Jefferson’s eldest daughter, Martha “Patsy” Jefferson Randolph—a woman who kept the secrets of our most enigmatic founding father and shaped an American legacy.

From her earliest days, Patsy Jefferson knows that though her father loves his family dearly, his devotion to his country runs deeper still. As Thomas Jefferson’s oldest daughter, she becomes his helpmate, protector, and constant companion in the wake of her mother’s death, traveling with him when he becomes American minister to France.

It is in Paris, at the glittering court and among the first tumultuous days of revolution, that fifteen-year-old Patsy learns about her father’s troubling liaison with Sally Hemings, a slave girl her own age. Meanwhile, Patsy has fallen in love—with her father’s protégé William Short, a staunch abolitionist and ambitious diplomat. Torn between love, principles, and the bonds of family, Patsy questions whether she can choose a life as William’s wife and still be a devoted daughter.

Her choice will follow her in the years to come, to Virginia farmland, Monticello, and even the White House. And as scandal, tragedy, and poverty threaten her family, Patsy must decide how much she will sacrifice to protect her father’s reputation, in the process defining not just his political legacy, but that of the nation he founded.

My Recommendation:

I loved AMERICA’S FIRST DAUGHTER so much, I provided this blurb:

“AMERICA’S FIRST DAUGHTER is the story of a generation caught between the past and the future of a nation, and illuminates how the actions of one woman managed to sustain a family in spite of the consequences of both privilege and poverty. Not since GONE WITH THE WIND has a single volume family saga so brilliantly portrayed the triumphs, trials, and sins of a family in the American South.”

This is one of the finest historical novels I have ever read, and I have a copy to give away to one lucky reader. Please comment below by Wednesday, March 9th at 9 PM ET about your favorite epic historical drama, or why you are interested in this period in American history to win, and please share on social media. (US only, please.) Good luck!

20 thoughts on “Giveaway: AMERICA’S FIRST DAUGHTER

  1. jmccannwriter says:

    I do love this period in American history, and this book is on my to-read list. But my all-time favorite epic historical drama is actually set in South America. THE INVISIBLE MOUNTAIN by Carolina de Robertis is stunning, brilliantly written. I read it several years ago, and my mind still goes to the characters from time to time.

  2. Bonnie K. says:

    Well, the epic historical drama that is wrapping up is Downton Abbey. I am going to miss them. As much as I love my country and American history, I do love reading about several time periods in England. This country and the Queen hold a special place in my heart because my mother is from there. America’s First Daughter looks like a fabulous read.

  3. Cindy Stephens says:

    I love all historical dramas but some of my favs are Passion of Christ, Braveheart, The Patriot

  4. Caryn S says:

    I have gotten more interested in this period after listening endlessly to the Hamilton soundtrack. Lin Manuel Miranda has done an incredible job of bringing history to life.

  5. Jennifer S. says:

    I’ve been wanting to read this one for months now! My favorite historical epic dramas are: Gone with the Wind; the Bronze Horseman series (Paullina Simons) and the Tea Rose series.

  6. piperhuguley says:

    Sounds like a great read! My favorites are: The Black Rose by Tananarive Due and Douglass’s Women by Jewell Parker Rhodes.

  7. Kim says:

    Thank you so much for the chance!!
    I love books set during early America.

  8. rhchatlien says:

    I’m interested in this period because my own novel (The Ambitious Madame Bonaparte) is set in it, and I’m interested in this novel because I’ve heard such wonderful things about it. P.S. Erika, I really enjoyed House of Hawthorne.

  9. erikarobuck says:

    CARYN: Random.org has selected you as the winner. Congratulations, and thanks to all of you who participated!

  10. […] 9. America’s First Daughter, by Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie […]

Leave a Reply

