Book Recommendation: BLACK RABBIT HALL

25716594

“Black Rabbit Hall is not a house that lends itself to ‘getting on.’ any more than it does phone calls…It unfolds at its own pace, its corridors, anterooms, and the repeated pauses of its views fostering a dreamy kind of lingering, an openness to getting lost. Is this because it was build for the leisured class, she wonders, or something else?” Eve Chase, BLACK RABBIT HALL

Publisher Synopsis:

For fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Waters, here’s a magnetic debut novel of wrenching family secrets, forbidden love, and heartbreaking loss housed within the grand gothic manor of Black Rabbit Hall.

Ghosts are everywhere, not just the ghost of Momma in the woods, but ghosts of us too, what we used to be like in those long summers . . .

Amber Alton knows that the hours pass differently at Black Rabbit Hall, her London family’s country estate, where no two clocks read the same. Summers there are perfect, timeless. Not much ever happens. Until, of course, it does.

More than three decades later, Lorna is determined to be married within the grand, ivy-covered walls of Pencraw Hall, known as Black Rabbit Hall among the locals. But as she’s drawn deeper into the overgrown grounds, half-buried memories of her mother begin to surface and Lorna soon finds herself ensnared within the manor’s labyrinthine history, overcome with an insatiable need for answers about her own past and that of the once-happy family whose memory still haunts the estate.

Stunning and atmospheric, this debut novel is a thrilling spiral into the hearts of two women separated by decades but inescapably linked by the dark and tangled secrets of Black Rabbit Hall.

My Recommendation:

Rebecca, Little Stranger, The Distant Hours

Gothic, romantic, house-centered fiction laden with family secrets is a favorite of mine. I enjoy nothing more than cozying up with a multi-period mystery, set in an unforgettable estate, peopled with men and women brought together by blood and circumstance.

Black Rabbit Hall is a welcome addition to the genre. I could see the action as if I were watching a film. The prose is elegant, the plot kept me reading late into the night, and though the story is heartbreaking, redemption comes. Prepare to be drawn to, beguiled by, and to fall in love with Chase’s moody, fascinating characters.

Fans of multi-period mystery set on crumbling British country estates will devour Black Rabbit Hall. 

What is your favorite novel in the genre?

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “Book Recommendation: BLACK RABBIT HALL

  1. schmelzb says:

    Jamaica Inn is my fav historical mystery. I am delighted to read that you love mysteries too. A new contemporary thriller I recommend is Libby Fischer Hellmann ‘s latest. “Jump Cut” is just out! I was pleased to read and review an ARC on Amazon.

  2. Paula Cappa says:

    I’m very interested in Black Rabbit Hall. I loved The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters. One of my favorite ghost stories is Woman in Black by Susan Hill.

  3. […] 8. Black Rabbit Hall, by Eve Chase […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s