Giveaway: SISI: EMPRESS ON HER OWN

51ajz-KGLZL._SX333_BO1,204,203,200_

 

Publisher Synopsis:

For readers of Philippa Gregory, Paula McLain, and Daisy Goodwin comes a sweeping and powerful novel by New York Times bestselling author Allison Pataki. Sisi tells the little-known story of Empress Elisabeth of Austria-Hungary, the Princess Diana of her time, in an enthralling work of historical fiction that is also a gripping page-turner.

Married to Emperor Franz Joseph, Elisabeth—fondly known as Sisi—captures the hearts of her people as their “fairy queen,” but beneath that dazzling persona lives a far more complex figure. In mid-nineteenth-century Vienna, the halls of the Hofburg Palace buzz not only with imperial waltzes and champagne but with temptations, rivals, and cutthroat intrigue. Feeling stifled by strict protocols and a turbulent marriage, Sisi grows restless. A free-spirited wanderer, she finds solace at her estate outside Budapest. There she rides her beloved horses and enjoys visits from the Hungarian statesman Count Andrássy, the man with whom she’s unwittingly fallen in love. But tragic news brings Sisi out of her fragile seclusion, forcing her to return to her capital and a world of gossip, envy, and sorrow where a dangerous fate lurks in the shadows.

Through love affairs and loss, dedication and defiance, Sisi struggles against conflicting desires: to keep her family together, or to flee amid the collapse of her suffocating marriage and the gathering tumult of the First World War. In an age of crumbling monarchies, Sisi fights to assert her right to the throne beside her husband, to win the love of her people and the world, and to save an empire. But in the end, can she save herself?

Featuring larger-than-life historic figures such as Bavaria’s “Mad King Ludwig” and the tragic Crown Prince Rudolf, and set against many of Europe’s grandest sites—from Germany’s storied Neuschwanstein Castle to England’s lush shires—Sisi brings to life an extraordinary woman and the romantic, volatile era over which she presided.

My Recommendation:

Allison Pataki is one of my favorite historical novelists. Her attention to period detail, her rich prose, and the fascinating figures from history she brings to life stay with the reader and continue to get better and better. SISI: EMPRESS ON HER OWN is my favorite so far. I was fortunate enough to receive an early copy for review, and offered this endorsement:

“From luscious moonlit gardens to sumptuous castles, the settings of SISI: EMPRESS ON HER OWN are as dazzling as those of Vienna’s Imperial Court Theater, and the drama enacted on its pages is no less impressive. Pataki resurrects the unforgettable Empress Elisabeth in a rich and exquisite tragedy of passion and heartbreak—a true tour de force.”

At Allison’s launch party, she discussed how her travels led her to Sisi, and that it was as if they had been on a journey together in the writing of the books. She also talked about the power of fiction to reveal the ways individuals impact the outcome of history, and to inspire readers to understand their importance in the world.

I have one copy to give away to a lucky commenter below. Please tell me your favorite historical fiction author, or your favorite of Allison’s novels. Leave your comment by Monday, March 14th at 5 PM EST, and please share on social media. (US only.)

11 thoughts on “Giveaway: SISI: EMPRESS ON HER OWN

  1. schmelzb says:

    If you have already read Daisy Goodwin’s version of Sisi, what does Allison Pataki add? My fav historical fiction writer used to be Taylor Caldwell and Irving Wallace when I was a teen, but you know Erika Robuck is my favorite writer now and I tell everyone I know!

  2. Jennifer S. says:

    Asking me to pick my favorite historical fiction author is like asking me to pick my favorite child and I can’t so I’ll plead the 5th ☺️ But I really want to read Sisi!

  3. Bonnie K. says:

    I’ve been wanting to read The Accidental Empress. I’ve first read about Sisi in Daisy Goodwin’s The Fortune Hunter and would love to read Pataki’s story.

  4. Kimberly says:

    I’ve never read The Traitor’s Wife, but The Accidental Empress is my favorite work of historical fiction. I thought it was fantastic and I have always been enthralled by the life of Sisi. I think Sisi might be even better as Sisi’s later years are even more interesting.

  5. Kate Eminhizer says:

    To pick one favorite author is hard. I think I would have to currently go with Michelle Moran. She writes on strong women and has covered many different cultures. The story of Sisi intrigues me and I have ordered a copy for my library. I would certainly love my own copy though.

  6. Edee Walworth says:

    Picking one historical fiction author is hard, but I really enjoy Sarah McCoy, Michelle Moran and of course Erika Robuck! This book looks so interesting! Thank you for the chance!

  7. KmkeLena says:

    Kate Morton and Allison are my two favorite historical fiction writers. Having to pick between all the wonderful works in the genre is just not fair! 😉

  8. erikarobuck says:

    Thanks so much to all of you for entering! Random.org has chosen Edee as the winner. Congratulations, Edee!

  9. […] 7. Sisi: Empress on Her Own, by Allison Pataki […]

Leave a Reply

