Book Recommendation: FALLING

3861f8

“It starts with a house…This house, this dated, fusty house, is entirely within her budget, precisely because it is so dated and fusty. It is the perfect size–two bedrooms…And best of all there is a garden, or rather more than enough space for one…She imagines a long, rustic table, a small group of friends sitting around, bottles of rosé and candles interspersed with galvanized steel pots of lavender running down the center. Laughter. Happy faces. Everyone lit by the glow of summer and love.” Jane Green, FALLING

Publisher Synopsis:

The New York Times bestselling author of The Beach House, Jemima J, and Summer Secrets presents a novel about the pleasure and meaning of finding a home—and family—where you least expect them…

When Emma Montague left the strict confines of upper-crust British life for New York, she felt sure it would make her happy. Away from her parents and expectations, she felt liberated, throwing herself into Manhattan life replete with a high-paying job, a gorgeous apartment, and a string of successful boyfriends. But the cutthroat world of finance and relentless pursuit of more began to take its toll. This wasn’t the life she wanted either.

On the move again, Emma settles in the picturesque waterfront town of Westport, Connecticut, a world apart from both England and Manhattan. It is here that she begins to confront what it is she really wants from her life. With no job, and knowing only one person in town, she channels her passion for creating beautiful spaces into remaking the dilapidated cottage she rents from Dominic, a local handyman who lives next door with his six-year-old son.

Unlike any man Emma has ever known, Dominic is confident, grounded, and committed to being present for his son whose mother fled shortly after he was born. They become friends, and slowly much more, as Emma finds herself feeling at home in a way she never has before.

But just as they start to imagine a life together as a family, fate intervenes in the most shocking of ways. For the first time, Emma has to stay and fight for what she loves, for the truth she has discovered about herself, or risk losing it all.

In a novel of changing seasons, shifting lives, and selfless love, a story unfolds—of one woman’s far-reaching journey to discover who she is truly meant to be…

My Recommendation:

Summer is that delicious time when I dip into the pile of contemporary novels I neglect for historical fiction the other seasons of the year. I have been a long-time fan of Jane Green, and I couldn’t wait to read FALLING: A LOVE STORY. This is her 18th novel, and it might be her best.

FALLING is a story of faith: a woman takes a risk to create the life she always thought she wanted, and finds much more in the process. It is a family drama that is relatable on many levels, with characters real enough step off the page. You will grow to love these characters. Be sure to have a box of tissues handy.

I finished the book at midnight last night, and lost sleep thinking about Emma. My greatest hope is that Green writes a sequel. I need MORE.

Because we share a publisher, I was able to snag a couple of copies of FALLING to give away. For a chance to win, comment below with your favorite Jane Green novel or contemporary novelist, and share the giveaway on social media. You have until 9 PM EST on Monday, August 22nd to win. (US only, please.) Good luck!

17 thoughts on “Book Recommendation: FALLING

  1. Bonnie K. says:

    I became a fan of Jane Green since reading Jemima J. I have almost all of her books. I’m still waiting to get my hands on Falling. Most favorite? I will say Jemima J. I’ve been hooked since.

  2. I really enjoyed Tempting Fate. 😄 (I shared on Twitter)

  3. Terry P. says:

    Jemima J ! The best of the lot.

  4. I haven’t read anything by Jane Green [yet] by my favorite contemporary author is Ian McEwan.

  5. Laurice McClung says:

    I lovede Tempting Fate

  6. Susan Peterson says:

    I haven’t read one yet, but I’d love to start!

  7. Joanne says:

    I don’t know what contemporary novelist is my favorite but I loved your books as well as those by Sarah Mccoy. My BFF and I are from Ma, so we spent a lazy afternoon in Annapolis discussing Hawthorne and the underground -railroad 🙂

  8. I would love to read anything you recommend! Shared on fb. Not sure who my favorite contemporary author is but my BFF and i, both from boston, spent a lovely Annapolis afternoon discussing both Hawthorne and the underground railroad last month 🙂

  9. Domenica McGrath says:

    Babyville

  10. libgradgal says:

    Loving everything Liane Moriarty right now!

  11. Thanks for this giveaway, Erika. I have yet to read Jane Green. But one of my recent favorite contemporary novelists is Anthony Doerr.

  12. erikarobuck says:

    I love these book and author recommendations! Keep them coming!

  13. erikarobuck says:

    Random.org has selected Bonnie and Domenica! Congratulations!!! Thanks to all for participating.

Leave a Reply

