My Favorite Historical Fiction of 2016!

img_4603

Here is my (much agonized over) list of the best historical novels of 2016. Some of the books were not published in 2016, but that is when I read them. My criteria for making the list:

*I read it obsessively.

*I can’t stop thinking about it.

*I can’t stop recommending it.

As always, whittling my choices down to ten was incredibly difficult. The only thing that helped was the enormous volume of research materials I read this year cut into my novel reading enough to narrow the pool. For my full reviews and endorsements, click on each book title.

Disclaimer: I did include one contemporary novel (THE MADWOMAN UPSTAIRS) because it was based on JANE EYRE, and it was fresh and entertaining; I hope you’ll forgive me.

Without further ado, and in no particular order:

  1. Fates and Traitors, by Jennifer Chiaverini

    cover_fatesandtraitors

  2. Lilac Girls, by Martha Hall Kelly

     51z8vmotg9l-_sx333_bo1204203200_

  3. Euphoria, by Lily King

51s2YlJboaL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

4. Ecliptic, by Benjamin Wood

9781594206863

5. Jane Steele, by Lyndsay Faye

25868918

6. The Madwoman Upstairs, by Catherine Lowell

          url

7. Sisi: Empress on Her Own, by Allison Pataki

        51ajz-KGLZL._SX333_BO1,204,203,200_

8. Black Rabbit Hall, by Eve Chase

        25716594

9. America’s First Daughter, by Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie

        AFD_Cover

10. Georgia, by Dawn Tripp

       51GxScffDvL._SX334_BO1,204,203,200_

What were your favorites of 2016? What are your favorites from my list? Happy Reading, and Happy New Year! 

11 thoughts on “My Favorite Historical Fiction of 2016!

  1. Ohh, it looks like I have some great books to add to my TBR list! I definitely have to read The Madwoman Upstairs!

  2. Jessica says:

    Interesting list! If you were to only recommend one of these to read, which would you choose?

  3. Melissa Crytzer Fry says:

    Great list, Erika. Still intrigued by your “mind blown” review of The Ecliptic! My faves this year? All that is Solid Melts Into Air; News of the World; Fallen Land. Not a huge reading year for me, either, unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

